cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

faulknerm88
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎15-06-2011

Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

Evening,
I've been with Plusnet for about 8 months or so now, and when I signed up my line speed was estimated at approx 8Mb. When the connection was activated, it duly synced at this level, and that's the sort of speed I've continued to receive since.
Talking to a neighbour today, they mentioned that they'd just signed up to plusnet (shame they didn't ask for a referral, eh!) and have a 15Mb connection - so, curious, I checked again to see what mine was - and it is still at 8Mb.

To prove a point, I went through the process of checking my line on the new customer signup page, so see what estimate it gave...lo and behold, it estimates 17Mb.  Sad
Could it be that something has been upgraded at my exchange since I joined, but I've remained on old equipment, or something like that?
If that is the case, how likely is is that I could be upgraded too?
Thanks in advance. Smiley
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

Very likely - you would need to be moved to 21CN ADSL2+
faulknerm88
Grafter
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎15-06-2011

Re: Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

Have just stumbled across a couple of recent threads where people have requested the very same...apologies, I really should have searched first!
In that case, if Jojo or another member of staff spots this, could you place an order for this for me please? Smiley

Thanks!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

It may be quicker just to raise a ticket or phone in
ckcomputing
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎28-11-2009

Re: Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

You can request this on here when some of the DCT staff are on the forums. Smiley
Professionals are predictable - it's the amateurs that are dangerous!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Only have an 8Mb connection, yet if I sign up again estimate is 17Mb?

Hi there, it looks like there's an upgrade already going through for you Smiley - should complete on the 25th Jan.