cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oh dear, too late!

lazyrider
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-04-2013

Oh dear, too late!

I wish I had found this Forum before I signed up with Plusnet - the broadband is soooo sloooooow!  Mind you, compared whith the trials and tribulations of some members, I consider myself lucky I am connected at all.  My daughter is with BT, perhaps that is were I should be Undecided
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,436
Thanks: 1,013
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Moved to Broadband section
If the problem is your line than it would be the same with BT
If you can post the information requested here we may be able to help http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

You'll find on most support forums that more people join to have a moan than join to compliment the company on their service.
I've had nothing but good service from Plusnet and spent a couple of weeks reading through these forums before I decided to make the switch from BE.
Maybe post up the issues you're having on here and you may get your issues sorted Smiley
lazyrider
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-04-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Well 'Old Jim' I have had a look at the site you suggested and have some figures, they do not mean much to me, but they may do to you!
upstream: .87  Downstresm: .37  Bandwidth: 444/7,374
My grandchildren - 6-18 - know far more about this computer stuff than I do and have tried my connection with their many and various 'toys' and tell me my connection is OK up to the router but after that it is rubbish! Roll eyes
I only need to be able to 'stream' BBC i player without it stopping or telling me I am too slow! Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Are you connecting to the router via wireless or using a wired cable between the router and your computer ?
If you're doing it wirelessly then possibly try a wired connection and see if it helps ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Oh and another quick question - is this the first time this telephone line has had broadband on it or has it previously been used by another supplier ?
If so were there any issues with the speed with them ?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Oh dear, too late!

@lazyrider
I've checked details on your account and have performed some diagnostics and it looks like the connection dropping in and out fairly frequently has caused the speeds to drop well below what they should be. Here's a graph of the connection's up-time from the past week:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13654123816828.png"/>
Do you ever power the router off and back on or restart it for any reason?
If so that may just be the issue, if not I'd advise heading straight here to log a fault: http://faults.plus.net
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
lazyrider
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-04-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Problem resolved  Smiley  Plusnet, after much testing themselves, arranged for an Outreach engineer to have a look at my connection.  He sorted out the junction box and remade the connections.  Then tested the line.  It showed I should get 12/13mbps.  Plusnet then removed the 1 mbps limit they had on the line - to stabelise the connection.  I am now getting 12/13 mbps and a stable connection. Smiley.
I am well pleased.  Plusnet sorted out a problem in a week that TalkTalk failed to sort out in over a year and three engeneers visits.  The Outreach engeneer was not very complimentry about the TalkTalk engineers.
I am now wondering why I only get .32 mbps upload speed?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Oh dear, too late!

Excellent news Smiley
You may find you need to request your upload speed to be uncapped to get closer to the 1Mb upload your line should now be able to support.