cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noise Margin on new instalatiom

David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Ahh, it is true, you learn something new every day Cheesy  I too have recently had DSL turned on (after a house move) and my line has kept a steady 31/9 with my uptime being almost 77 hours now (no line drops since it was turned on).  Does that mean my noise margin will be increased to 12 soon, or because its stable at 31/9 it will stay at 9 - or even drop to 6?
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Noise Margin on new instalatiom

It won't increase but then again it may not decrease as there must be a reason why it went to 9dB in the first place.
Can you post the stats from your router - attenuation, speed, noise margin and errors
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

ppp0      Link encapTongueoint-Point Protocol
       
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:434340 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:308111 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:494274858 (471.3 Mb)  TX bytes:59622693 (56.8 Mb)
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 31 db 8 db
Noise Margin 10 db 28 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

You have nothing to worry about - your line is speed limited to 8128kbps and the noise margin will be what it needs to give that speed.
Now when you go to ADSL2+ then your noise margin will drop and your speed will increase sigfnificantly
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

I fiddled with router stats and it's really rather interesting though the graph I have no idea what I'm looking at Shocked
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Is your exchange enabled for WBC on 21CN (check here)? If it is you could apply for the ADSL2+ trial here - you should see very good speeds with your stats.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Not till 2011 unfortunately, though I'm 100% sure I'll be sticking with PN for 21CN too Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Here's a better explanation with regard to your Noise Margin. When you are sufficiently close to the exchange that you get maximum sync speed your signal is much stronger than the noise and the closer you are the stronger the signal. That means that the margin between signal and noise gets bigger, so you will see the SNRM increase, it just means you have more headroom, it has nothing to do with targets directly.
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

As posted in my other thread I was having issues with my room's phone line not working, but a DIY job fixed it and now I have it plugged in.  My noise margin seems to be fluctuating between 10db and 11db now, though my attenuation dropped down to 30.  Last night I left router stats running a while and it would fluctuate between 8 and 10 with occasional dips down to 6, is this normal behaviour?
I'm using one of the err really cheap filters in my room (plugs straight in, no wires) whilst the front room (with phone) has the "mouse" type one, would changing my filter to a higher quality stop the noise marging from fluctuating or is that a natural thing?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Some variation is normal, but what you are reporting seems a wider variation than I would expect.
Can you tie up the dips to any events (e.g. using the phone - incoming call)?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Nope, its a constant thing, though generally its only a couple of db every few seconds, the 6db (that I saw) only happened once.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

Is your bell wire connected?
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

My bell wire is connected, but the NTE5 has that new fangled ADSL filter thingy built in (works like the i-plate)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Noise Margin on new instalatiom

I think the best thing would be for you to post some RouterStats Noise Margin graphs. We're just going to be taking wild stabs as to possible causes until we see the way it's fluctuating.
Edit: Having done some digging for your "other thread", can yoiu confirm that the blue is connected to 2, orange to 3, white to 5 on the master faceplate and all extension sockets? How many extension sockets are there and is "yours" the first in the chain?
Is the cable routed in a duct/conduit or is it buried in the wall?