cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No (or hardly any) internet

materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 93
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

No (or hardly any) internet

This evening I realised (from the PC) there was little or no internet connection. Router shows 4 days uptime. V slow on speed test. Router check on connectivity shows this (attached). Tried restarting from Technicolor interface but although it appears to go through a restart nothing actually happens (no visible restart at router) and uptime same as before with no internet to speak of. Tried Reset from interface. Same. Once I was able to get to the router I used a paperclip to restart it and it did restart (though it didn't ask for password as I expected). Anyway connection is OK again but those same results show for connectivity - a red cross against IPv4 Gateway. Not sure what this indicates given it is unchanged before and after router hard reset.

Thanks

5 REPLIES
JayG
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 875
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: No (or hardly any) internet

Assuming yours is a PlusNet branded TG582n router, it can (and does) set itself up remotely even after a factory reset, although logging into the router interface will require the username and router password of course.

Have just replaced my TG582n with a 2704n PlusNet router after it appears to have developed a fault - it still connected to the internet OK but did also show the same red cross against the IPv4 gateway as in your attachment.

Whether this means your router could also be faulty I'm not able to say because it could be they are all like that - until someone can contribute a more specific answer I can only suggest keeping a watchful eye on the router's DSL stats for anything unusual (change in SNR, connection speeds, error rates etc.)

materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 93
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Re: No (or hardly any) internet

Yep it's that router. Once before when Plusnet support got me to do the reset thing with a paperclip on the router, when it restarted I needed to enter my Plusnet username to reconnect.

I'm sure it used to show two IPv4 gateways.

Maybe someone else can enlighten me.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,916
Thanks: 335
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: No (or hardly any) internet

That red cross for the connectivity check is harmless and does not indicate a fault with your device. It's because most (all?) of the 172.x.x.x gateways on the new network do not reply to pings.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,636
Thanks: 619
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: No (or hardly any) internet

Don't worry about what that page in the router is showing. Looking at your connection it's quite stable:

 
  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 28.8 47.5
SNR Margin: 6.0 6.1
Errored Seconds: 0 0
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 1219 2067
Speed: 934 6418
 
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 5696 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 4556
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 67391 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 224
Indicative Line Quality: A Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 112
Your line isn't reporting any faults when I test it.
 

Can you run a BT Speedtest for me, ensuring you do the further diagnostics test after the first one completes. This stores the results on the supplier system and allows us to use this to report the fault.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
materialman
Rising Star
Posts: 93
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Re: No (or hardly any) internet


Chris wrote:

Don't worry about what that page in the router is showing. Looking at your connection it's quite stable:


Can you run a BT Speedtest for me, ensuring you do the further diagnostics test after the first one completes. This stores the results on the supplier system and allows us to use this to report the fault.


Thank you Chris. I have done the tests you requested. Presumably they are now logged.

Prior to the problem I reported that evening here in this thread when the connection had been up about 3 days, there had been a stable connection up for far longer, about 40 odd days I think.

What would have caused the connection to be hardly there as I reported and for the router to be unresponsive to the interface, requiring me to reset through the reset hole in the router?

Thanks