cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No broadband for 24 hours

Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

No broadband for 24 hours

Anyone else in manchester been offline for last 24 hours? Ive done all the tests and raised a fault report but cant even get on to check progress. Seems odd this has happened just after I agreed to another 2 year contract. I think I'm still within the cooling off period so think I'll be cancelling Angry
15 REPLIES
Heldark
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎26-03-2008

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Been offline for 48hrs in Aberdeen area.  CS phoneline mentions many customers having this problem - router reports DSL unavailable.  Recent electrical storms maybe causing a problem?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

@Freccle
I've just tested your line and it seems that your router is trying to connect with an incorrect username. Can you log in to your router and make sure the username and password are correct, there should be instructions in the booklet we sent you on how to do this.
@Heldark
We're showing you as online now?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

No im not online. Im using my.phone. I try logging into the router using my plusnet user name and password and it says the username or password youve entered is incorrect please try again
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

To log in to the router the username should be admin and the password is the serial number that starts with CP
Once you've logged in to the router that's where you enter username@plusdsl.net along with your connection password.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Just done the first part but it says no broadband found
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

OK, something odd is happening here. Can you dial 17070 and make sure that the number it reads back is yours please? When you do this, if the number is correct can you follow the instructions for the quiet line test.
The line test I did showed that the router has a SKY username in it, but that shouldn't be the case with it being our router, so I just want to check the above.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Dial from the landline?
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Yes its our number
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Whats the quiet line test? Remember im using my mobile phone here
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Quiet line test
Call 17070 from your landline phone
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Ive Just dialled that and yes its our number thats read back. I dont know what the quiet line test is and im running out ofmobile data now
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

it isn't relevant in this case - when you dial 17070 there are various options one of which is the quiet line test which allows you to listen for pops, crackles, etc. which can indicate a line fault
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,683
Thanks: 666
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

OK, the testing is showing a fault on the phone side of the line. So I'm reporting that to get fixed, I'll update the ticket and SMS you shortly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Freccle
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: No broadband for 24 hours

Sorry didnt stay on line long enough. Tried the quiet line test and all I got was loud buzzing and a series of clicks then it went dead. Yesterday I went all through trying a different splitter different router etc etc but we dont seem to be any closer to a solution. Could it be because ive asked to change to fibre but the engineer is not due out until 21 july. We cant manage that long with no internet. Im going to take my laptop to a nearby wifi spot, see if I can at least get my emails.