cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No PPPoA connection for 2 days

linux
Grafter

No PPPoA connection for 2 days

I've had no PPPoA connection - and hence no Internet connection - for the past 48 hours.
The router is otherwise working OK. In particular the ADSL link trains with normal upstream and downstream connection speeds.
My phone is OK.
Repeated power cycles of the router make no difference.
9 REPLIES 9
Blake
Grafter

Re: No PPPoA connection for 2 days

Are you using a Plusnet router & how old is it?
linux
Grafter

No, I've been using a Netgear DG834Gv5 for the past 4 years or so.
Blake
Grafter

I'm guessing you have already tried ensuring the username and password is right and tried apply/connect again?
If you have then there are two likely scenarios;
1- Router has died (quite possible with it being 4yr old)
2- A service outage in your area,  these don't tend to last 2+ days though very often.
linux
Grafter

My router was working OK until I powered it off on Monday night. When I powered it on on Tuesday morning there was no PPPoA connection. I hadn't changed any settings.
Apart from no PPPoA, there is no obvious problem with the router: WLAN is OK, statistics are OK.
I'll login to my router via telnet and see if I can find relevant error logs.
Alas I don't have another ADSL2+ router to try.
cedlor
Grafter

Did you unplug it on Monday?  check the pins on the plug/socket  in case one got bent.
Have you tried in the test socket if you have one?
Tried a different filter/ ethernet cable.
Please post the logs./stats
Blake
Grafter

It's worth trying to just re enter your details and apply/connect again and if that doesn't do the job then do as cedlor mentioned and try getting it connected again.
If that doesn't work and you are getting the sync/dsl connection side of things then it is almost definitely the router.