cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Internet

terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

No Internet

Hi everyone at Plusnet happy New Year to you all. It's  not very happy in this house at the moment as we have no internet signals. I can connect by cable but that's it ..The boys Ipads cannot receive WIFI either. Is there still a problem from a few days ago with the service. Regards Terry.
PS I Have Reset and rebooted the router re, entered passwords etc.   Cry
[Moderator's note by Dick(Strat) All caps edited as per forum rules and removed superfluous poll.
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: No Internet

If you can connect by cable the problem is at your end.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: No Internet

Sorry to hear about this problem.
As connecting via  cable works and as this graph demonstrates, your broadband connection seems to be fine at the moment which would suggest that the problem just relates to the use of wireless:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13572262356064.png"/><div style="clear:both;"></div>
Do either of the iPads present a specific error message when they fail to connect?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hi both ipads say not in range funny as they are right next to the router ,the laptop connects then disconnects do i need a new router?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: No Internet

It could be that perhaps one of your neighbours or someone else nearby may be using wifi across the same channel as yourself, that could cause this type of issue.
I'd advise giving this free piece of software a try to help identify if you're on a busy or over-used wireless channel to see if it might be worth altering that on your router:
http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/
Just let us know if you need any further help
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hi Adam thanks for your help still not much wifi going on. Does,nt show any interfernce or overlapping on this program. Got Wifi on the laptop if i sit 3 feet away from the router no signal to any ipad both ipads show excellent signal then signal poor mobile phones doing the same., just looks like poor Wifi signals if at all, thinking about a new Router regards Terry.  Cry
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: No Internet

Hi Terry,
Which router is it that you've got? Is it the Technicolor 582N?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hello again Adam the router is a Thompson TG585V8.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: No Internet

Thanks for letting me know Terry. It's Chris by the way  Cheesy
Before you do this: *It is best to connect the device via Ethernet whilst making these changes*
If you follow these steps it may help you resolve the issue:
First of all open up your Web Browser as though you were going to use the Internet;
1.  In the address bar type in 192.168.1.254
You will now be presented with a log in page to your router. You'll be asked for a Username and Password.
2. Your Username should be: admin Your Password will be the serial number found on the underside of your router in Capital Letters.
You should now be logged into your Thomson Gateway. You should see some links on the left hand-side.
3. Click on 'Home Network' >> Click on 'PlusnetWirelessD4567' >> Click on 'Configure' at the top right of the menu
This should bring you to a page with a list of different settings on.
4. Please click on 'Interface Type' and change this to 'G' (It is likely to be set at b/g/n) and then also change the 'Wireless Channel to either 1,6 or 11. Once you've done that, head straight down to the bottom and click 'Save/Submit'.
Once that settings have been changed, close your Web Browser and try and reconnect your devices back up (iPads, Phones and any other Wireless enabled devices.)
Let me know if that does the trick for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hi Chris thanks for trying to help,we are just a ordinary family trying to do this and we need some advice = which user name do we enter into the top box and the serial no is that the SN number on the underside of router , thanks for your time regards terry.  Embarrassed
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,454
Thanks: 794
Fixes: 52
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: No Internet

For logging into the router web interface the username to use is literally the five characters admin in lower case letters. The password is the serial number (SN) of the router which will be like CP1234ABC5D with all characters in upper case letters. Though this will start with CP, positions with letters and numbers might differ from the pattern I've shown.
David
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: No Internet

Hi Terry,
I've tried calling you but it appears you're unavailable at the moment. If you'd like to give our Technical Support Team a call on 0800 432 0200 they will be able to assist you in making the necessary changes to the settings within your router Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hi Chris thanks for the phone call sorry i missed you have to work shifts at the moment. Latest== I have reset the router  settings interface and channel then rebooted the router still the same thing no Wifi around the house, this morning I have moved the router to another room with phone line, still the same so thats it, what if you send me another router I am willing to pay for it just to end this problem once and for all. many thanks for the care and interest shown by your team regards Terry.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: No Internet

No problem Terry.
I'm glad we have managed to get something sorted out for you now Cheesy
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
terpal2000
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 03-01-2013

Re: No Internet

Hi Chris I have received my new router this morning is ok to connect or do I need to wait for you to send me a txt or email to confirm regards Terry. Smiley