cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Broadband - Plusnet might terminate contract

bridley

No Broadband - Plusnet might terminate contract

I have been using Broadband successfully since 2009. I joined PlusNet at the end of April 2015. At the beginning, I was told on the phone to expect speeds in the range 0.5 - 1.5 mbps. I got an email from PlusNet on 14th May to say that my Broadband speed was 0.75 mbps which tallied with my previous experience. In June everything fell apart. By 11th June PlusNet were insisting that I couldn't expect reliable Broadband where I live, despite the previous 6 years of usage and that no further work was intended. By Saturday 13th June, I had no broadband connectivity whatsoever and PlusNet support said nothing to be done and were suggesting that PlusNet might terminate my contract. I was told a PlusNet manager would ring me within 4 hours. Nobody rang.
I rang up this morning and PlusNet support have now arranged for a BTOR engineer for Wednesday morning (17th). PlusNet now say that my expected speed is 0.25 - 1.5 mbps - this wouldn't have anything to do with the recent Government pronouncement on Broadband contracts, would it? At a meeting with many neighbours on Saturday 13th, we found that they have all experienced lost or slow Broadband recently, regardless of their supplier. They were all shocked that it was suggested that a contract could be terminated. They all need BTOR to do their job of course. My contract is with PlusNet and it is PlusNet's responsibility to make sure that BTOR (essentially a sub-contractor of PlusNet) do their job properly.
27 REPLIES 27
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 155

Re: No Broadband - Plusnet might terminate contract

Hi Bridley,
Welcome to the forums, sad to hear of your troubles.