cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newsgroup issue

Rik

Newsgroup issue

Hi all
I'm new to plus.net and just got my service activated this week. On all normal web usage my connection is fine and I get a download speed of about 5-6mb/sec which is about right for my area. The upload speed isn't amazing at only around 0.2mb/sec but the big issue I am getting is newsgroups seem to be unusable at all times day and night. The best speed I've seen on a download from giganews is 30kbs!! Bit it is usually around half that!   That is unusable! I did a normal speedtest using www.speedtest.net then one using my news provider (Giganews).  You can see the results below.
Speedtest.net result:

Giganews test result:

Does anyone know why this might be happening? I have never had this problem with any of my previous providers (Virgin Media, Sky, O2) so if this is going to be an ongoing thing with plusnet I'll be very happy I didn't commit to a 12 month contract as I'll be moving by the end of the week.
17 REPLIES 17
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

Re: Newsgroup issue

Have you checked the expected speeds for your product?
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/download_speeds.shtml
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
matt_2k34
Grafter

Select your package on the above link, dependant on the time of day which you use your connection, there may be rate limits applied (which is why your seeing 'slowness' when using newsgroups)
By giving throttles to certain protocols - plusnet ensures that your browsing / voip / gaming is always seemless over their network.
The speed is perfectly fine for using newsgroups 'normally' however you may become irritated with the slow speed if you are downloading from Binary newsgroups.