cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to PlusNet... not happy! [Edit: hardware wrongly set-up; I'm happy now :) ]

teebz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-09-2013

New to PlusNet... not happy! [Edit: hardware wrongly set-up; I'm happy now :) ]

Hi,
I've just moved to PlusNet after 3 happy years on O2 Broadband. I moved since O2 has been sold to Sky and I didn't want to be on Sky.
Since being on PlusNet, speeds are similar, slightly higher even (after requesting to be switched to line speed which should have been the case since day 1...)
Although, the connection provided is awful.
A- On my Xbox: Xbox Live takes ages to connect and keeps dropping (yes I have activated the game mode).
B- On my other devices: I cannot use Skype, Google Hangout, Viber... anything that has to deal with VoIP seems broken. When I use those apps on my iPhone, it works when I switch to 3G. When switching back to PlusNet, like with the other devices: nothing goes through (I have deactivated the modem firewall and checked that PlusNet's wasn't on).
I am extremely disappointed.
What can I do? I really need the VoIP apps to work.
Any idea will be appreciated!
12 REPLIES
aldabbagh
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: 24-03-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Hi, I have same problem! I've been with plus for 10 years. I know the feeling.  Cry
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

its probably a combination of network settings and needing to use upnp instead of portmapping /dmz to get things to work,
if your unable to create tunnels for 6>4 or 4>6 then your also not able to create vpns which means most stuff wont work, reset everything to default in the router, put in your username and password,  check that UPNP is switched on, connect to the internet and connect with your devices
(don't change any of the default settings) see if your programs work, if there not working check network settings to ensure your connected ot a trusted network (home network) and try Skype etc again
if its still not working then run the builtin trouble shootter on your pc (and make sure your using an Ethernet connection to rule out wifi problems)
if you cant get it to work raise a fault via the membercenter and go through all the steps they suggest then modify the first post here with a ticket number (if you ge  to that stage)

its probably something relatively simple but overlooked
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Hi teebz,
I'm really sorry to hear you're having such issues - this isn't normal.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13795845346003.png"/>
Any ideas what's happening when the graphs show a loss of connection? Is your router being switched off at all?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Hi aldabbagh,
Here is a connection graph of your line:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13795848839897.png"/>
Can you explain what sort of issues it is you are having so that we can help you out?
Edit: Typo
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
teebz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-09-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Quote from: Chris
Hi teebz,
I'm really sorry to hear you're having such issues - this isn't normal.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13795845346003.png"/>
Any ideas what's happening when the graphs show a loss of connection? Is your router being switched off at all?

Hi Chris,
Thank you for looking into it.
It's not a loss of connection, it's just me turning it off at night Smiley
The issues experienced are not due to the connection itself. It is stable.
I think nanotm might be right... I will reset the router + try on a different one tonight and see if it is any better.
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Quote
I think nanotm might be right
theres always a chance for a first time but I rather doubt it will turn out that way
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,825
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

U shouldn't switched off at night, doing this will target DLM to reduced your broadband speed and increasing SNR to 18dB if you carry on switched off. Always leave it ON at all times.
offbeatdave
Grafter
Posts: 134
Registered: 24-09-2012

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Am I looking at teebz's graph correctly? It looks like it's being switch off in the day doesn't it? Shift worker?
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 176
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

oo...er the OP hasn't been back.  Lips are sealed
Let us know the result  Undecided
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
teebz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-09-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Hi everyone,
First of all, thank you for your replies and suggestions!
It took me some time to reply as I was testing different things.
Just to clarify, I am not a shift worker. I just don't like to leave my devices on if no one is in the house  Smiley
I tried connecting a different modem/router and it worked flawlessly!
Although it's an old modem and it isn't compatible with Wifi N... so I really wanted to switch back to Plusnet's modem.
When I originally received Plusnet's modem, I literally swapped my old O2 modem with Plusnet's (they are the same Technicolor 582n).
Keeping micro filters, ethernet cables and power brick in place since I assumed everything would be the same.
After testing with an old modem, since the line was fine, I knew the fault definitely came from the modem itself.
So last thing I tried: swapped the power brick I got with O2's modem (and still used on the modem sent by Plusnet) with the one Plusnet sent.
And guess what? Everything has been working since!  Shocked
I completely overlooked it since those modems are identical.
So for everyone out there switching to Plusnet: when you switch, make sure you replace the whole hardware with the new one provided!
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,825
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy!

Quote from: teebz
I just don't like to leave my devices on if no one is in the house  Smiley

Why is this? I always leave router on even if I am away. DLM will think your line is faulty and will increasing SNR and banded on your line if you kept switch off durng night and day.
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,712
Thanks: 120
Fixes: 2
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: New to PlusNet... not happy! [Edit: hardware wrongly set-up; I'm happy now :) ]

not everyone knows about connectivity problems, not everyone believes electrical stuff is safe when left alone (plenty of people's houses burn down due to faulty electrical equipment) and not everyone has changed the habits to avoid high bills on limited connections when being switched to on demand unlimited products ....

its all about perception, although if I was the op rather than turning it off i'd invest in a good quality ups (there not cheap mind you) and connect it via that, to the mains
it has the advantage of temp sensor(s) being built in to d/c the mains in a fault situation, they also d/c connected equipment should the power draw change, then again those units are often well over £500 but its all about what you feel safe with.
your other option would be to continue as you are and just have PlusNet give you a fixed profile (so the DLM is taken out of the equation) and in theory that should stop it from trying to train the line every time you switch on
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you