cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Broadband,very slow download speeds

dave5963

New to Broadband,very slow download speeds

Hi I am new to broadband and started my plusnet connection Monday evening 10/10/11.
decided to download some old movies from archive.org after midnight Tuesday to not use up my allowance too quickly.
I noticed my download speed on wireless was 90-100kbps which i thought odd as the BT availability test told me i was capable of over 7mbps so surely i should be able to download a file around this speed,or am i being a bit thick?
I tried turning off wireless and plugging in the ethernet cable and my download speed was only 80-90kbps which soon slowed to 54-60kbps.I decided to unplug my phone from the filter and my speed rapidly rose to just over 300kbps but dropped back a bit to around 280kbps.
Wednesday morning 12/10/11 i connected on wireless and downloaded an Opera browser update which ran at 180-200kbps download speed.Had a look at your broadband speed problems page and tried 'mybroadband speed.co.uk.
The test returned results of 6111kbps download speed and 374kbps upload speed.
I did a second test minutes later and got a message 'upload test returned an error while trying to read the upload file'
Tried tests with phone plugged into filter and without (because of change in speed i noticed last night when unplugging phone) but the results were roughly the same each time.
tried downloading another movie from archive.org at 10.26am straight after the speed tests, still only getting around 98kbps download speed on wireless.Turned off wireless and plugged in ethernet cable,restarted file download and download speed was just under 300kbps, tried plugging and unplugging phone into the filter but noticed no change in speed this time.
Surely if tests are showing my download speeds as 6-7mbps i should be able to download at around these speeds?