cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to ADSL2

the_groundsman
Grafter
Posts: 381
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

New to ADSL2

Today is day 1 of my new billing month and I am now UNLIMITED! and 21CN for the first time.
I had to restart my router a couple of times this last week ( 3 or 4 times I think since monday) - not because f the weather but a quirk with my work blackberry which i need to connect via the wifi (UMA). Ive been working at home and needed to be available by phone. Recently  I've been getting speeds of around 5500 kbps for the last month or so but yesterday ( before the switch over it was more like 4500 kbps as the Noise margin had been increased to 9.5. I thoughted I might need to reconnect again for the 21CN magic to start but its reconnected at around the same speed and the same noise margin. Another factor is We have had atrocious weather here ( Norfolk ) all week. I dont think thats related but if anything it wont have helped
From what I have read here and in support  I now need to leave alone for a while. I guess it might have this status and speed for sometime. Is there anything I need to do or will it the line speed up. If I do nothing it might stay at this sub optimal speed.? and can I expect better things in the long run now im on ADSL2?
Any advice gratefully received
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,887
Thanks: 128
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: New to ADSL2

If you have just started your 10 day training period (as happens when you begin on ADSL2+/21CN) I advise you to leave your router alone as much as possible but switch it off in the event of a thunderstorm and disconnect from the mains if the power goes out  (plugging it back in after an hour of stable restored power).
But are you sure you are on 21CN?  Your SNR target should have been reset to 6 and you would hope for an increased speed from 5500kbps. 
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

When I moved from 20CN to 21CN most of the settings carried over but the noise margin increased from 6dB to 9dB then 12dB for no obvious reason - I had it reset back to 6dB where it has been ever since
In answer to the original question - they can do nothing until the 10 day training period has ended then they can initiate a retrain
the_groundsman
Grafter
Posts: 381
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

Thanks both...
So heres the really stupid question ... how would i know if im on ADSL2+ or not. I saw I had a service ticket to say i would move at the next billing month and that has been closed:
Provisioning of your ADSL Account Information
Pending Provisioned Service \'WBC MAX24 mb/s (ADSL2+ Annex A) 448kbit/s Upstream\' added as a part of Account Change process

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

One way which may work
What is your upload sync speed - if it isn't 448kbps you may be on 21CN
Another is to run the BT speed test - is your IP profile 88.2% of your sync speed - if it is you are on 21CN hence ADSL2
the_groundsman
Grafter
Posts: 381
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

its not 448


System Up Time 08:20:51
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 348207 550539 0 3177 63477 02:52:34
LAN 100M/Full    0 0 0          0              0 08:20:31
WLAN 54M 898594 639765 0 31092 3712 08:20:51
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 4515 kbps 1072 kbps
Line Attenuation 40.5 db          19.0 db
Noise Margin 7.85 db              6.5 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

You are on ADSL2 with uncapped upstream
Having said that your download speed is very low - before the change did you ever try using the test socket
Compare
Noise Margin:     3.6   dB
Connection Rate:  4896  Kbps
Line Attenuation: 50.0  dB
This is with a 6dB default
the_groundsman
Grafter
Posts: 381
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

Thanks OldJim
The master socket is in the most inconvenient place in the house. There is no mains electirc socket anywhere near it for the router and i dont want loads of trailing wires so im preprared to compromise. I'm hoping that onceit all settles down I'll be getting 5000kbps. That is fine for me. We stream a bit in SD and thats fine for that.
I think being patient is all that's required for me now.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,807
Thanks: 1,181
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

Quote from: the
Provisioning of your ADSL Account Information
Pending Provisioned Service \'WBC MAX24 mb/s (ADSL2+ Annex A) 448kbit/s Upstream\' added as a part of Account Change process

I suspect that could be a spurious service notice added on your account when you ordered Unlimited which doesn't actually do anything, because it is spurious. If it did do something your service would be changed from uncapped to capped (and it hasn't been).
In the first days of Unlimited there were several instances where this service notice got a mention, unfortunately not always spurious.
If you do a speedtest at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/, and click the Further Details button afterwards does it record upload speeds? (That used to be a mark of 21CN lines, I assume it still is even with the new tester.)
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

*/cough
see post 5 and my reply  Lips are sealed
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,807
Thanks: 1,181
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New to ADSL2

Yes I'd read post 5 and your reply and still made my post.
David