cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New install, slow speeds.

Josh1821
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

New install, slow speeds.

I've had the new router up and running with an active connection for about 12 hours now but the speeds are painfully slow and are showing no signs of improving.
I was with Sky broadband previously and achieving up to 10000/1000kbps with an average 50ms~ ping on most games/services, however I am only getting 427/36kbps and nearly 200ms ping with the new Plusnet set up
Here are some stats:

Uptime: 0 days, 0:16:33
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.3
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 36 / 427
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.08 / 4.81
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 61.9 / 61.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 3.4 / 6.2
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 2 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Current Line speed: 7.4Mb
BT Speed test:
Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.28 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.1 Mbps-0.5 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 0.38 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.01Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps
Sorry if I've missed anything, thanks in advance
28 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Hi Josh1821,
I'm sorry to hear of the issues that you're experiencing. I've checked your line and it looks quite intermittent:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13989323908505.png"/>
I can also see the low connection rate that your router has connected at. Would you be able to connect an alternative microfilter? If the speeds are still low after 24 hours, can you connect your router into your Test Socket?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Josh1821
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Hi Chris, thanks for the reply. The micro filter connected is a new one from the Plusnet box but I will try another and get back to you.
EDIT: So it appears I have found the problem, I left my brother with the task of plugging the phone line and filter into the socket whilst I plugged the router into the mains and he hadn't pushed the plug in fully! I reseated everything and I've now synced at 443/8691 kbps.
I'm amazed it connected at all, now to wait patiently until June for Fibre rollout in my area!
Thanks for the help, I will update if there are any more problems.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Looking at your stats the bit which stands out is
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:  61.9 / 61.5
Now up attenuation is usually about half the down but many routers won't report an attenuation much higher than that shown so it is very likely that you have a very high attenuation and this is causing the low speeds and also the disconnections
The question is therefore - is the line length such that the attenuation is really that bad or are there other factors involved (aluminium cabling being one)
If you put your post code but not the phone number in http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/adslchecker.php what does it give for the speed
Josh1821
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: New install, slow speeds.

I reseated everything and I'm back up to the speed I was getting with Sky (See edit).
My line is now showing
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 24.0 / 42.0
Max speed shows as 8Mb with the link you provided
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New install, slow speeds.

and now - despite all the statements to the contrary - your upstream speed is capped
This needs fixing
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Ah - I'm glad you've managed to find the cause Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New install, slow speeds.

and you ignored my post immediately above your last one  Sad
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New install, slow speeds.

It's being done now, sorry I missed your post.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: New install, slow speeds.

I've placed the necessary modify order to uncap your upload, this will complete tomorrow for you.
Josh1821
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Thanks for the help guys, I wasn't aware of the upload cap but maybe Remote Play through the Vita will work a bit better on the PS4 when I'm away from home, I couldn't get it to work for the life of me outside my local network.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,940
Thanks: 4,237
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Quote from: Chris
It's being done now, sorry I missed your post.

Chris,
Good to see you back...
I raised this issue with Adam yesterday - I thought that all new provisions were being ordered uncapped - he confirmed that they are and that the one in question yesterday had been done manually and that feedback would be provided.
Today another capped order has been identified on the forums.  Was this a manual order?  Is there a systematic failing with manual orders, which if resolved would make DCT's life easier to say nothing of the benefit to customers?  Is it possible to get the BTw system's default changed to be uncapped, thereby removing the opportunity for human error in the manual ordering process?
...just me thinking again!  Cheesy
Kevin
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Hi Kevin,
Thanks for the welcome back Smiley
We could pursue this with our suppliers to get the default changed, however, It's unlikely they would change it just for 1 CP! They would most probably say "No, do it right in the first place yourselves" - you can't really argue of that.
If you have a link to the other upload order that had to be placed, I'll happily take a look for you. I'm certain it will have been a manual order as all automated orders are placed with uncapped upload.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,940
Thanks: 4,237
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Chris,
See here - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,126679.msg1100624.html#msg1100624 ; Adam confirmed that order was done manually.
I guess my question is, was THIS thread's order manual too?  Is there therefore a general need to remind the very busy people who are fixing the failures in (BTOR's ?) provisioning / order systems that they need to remember to change the unhelpful default setting for the US synch speed?
I guess that there is no easy means to have the results of a manual order checked by script to avoid the wrong configuration visited on the customer and the consequential additional work load on the support functions?
Kevin
Josh1821
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: New install, slow speeds.

Hi guys sorry to bump the thread but I figured it would be easier than making a new one as it's fairly recent.
So my router is showing it's synced at speeds of 1135/8199 however speed tests on multiple devices are only reaching a whopping 25kb/s down.
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:09:32
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,135 / 8,199
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2.98 / 10.42
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 24.0 / 42.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.5 / 5.9
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 15 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 3
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 13
Things were fine earlier today but in each match of Counter Strike I played less than  few hours ago I was having lag spikes sending my ping from 50ms to 180ms for a second and then settling at 50 again, I didn't notice a pattern occurring.
EDIT: Still the same at 7AM, ping and upload speeds are top notch, however download speeds are still atrocious. Win 7 laptop and Win XP desktop both wires and an iPhone 5S over wifi all reporting 25kb/s through speed tests.