cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

So the engineer arrived today took about half an hour installation, added a new faceplate etc. I was really excited to have speeds 10x what I used to have.
Started working for about 10 mins and then constant disconnect after every 10 mins.
The issue is with my line/plusnet because with the help of a plusnet adviser we tried it through the modern direct and the disconnections continued.
Now awaiting a phone call from the technical side. Anyone had a similar issue?
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

My neighbour had the same problem caused by a line fault which wasn't picked up by the Openreach engineer when he did the installation. PN will get it sorted for you, they're excellent.
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Thanks for the swift reply.  Did your neighbour have the engineer round again to get the faulty line fixed?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Hi elvenmunky,
I'm currently looking into this for you, I'll update you shortly.
Chris
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

I ran through the faults process and amended a couple of thing on your line, it's seems that you've been connected for an hour now? Does it seem better from your side?
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Quote from: chrispurvey
I ran through the faults process and amended a couple of thing on your line, it's seems that you've been connected for an hour now? Does it seem better from your side?

Hello the connection seems to have become stable for now.  Internet is fine and running at 35-40mb. Thanks for the swift reply and assistance.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

No worries, let me know if there's anything else.
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Hello Chris there is one more enquiry I have. The package that I bought was for 75mb but I'm only getting up to 40mb. Is there anything you can do regarding this?
mushy
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 16-10-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

sign into your member centre and check your current line speed and also do a bt speedtest and post the IP Pofile, they may have dropped and want resetting with the disconnections
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
http://www.speedtester.bt.com/
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects


BT speedtester result - 36.43 DOWN, 7.38 UP and 33.75 PING
Plusnet Member profile -

Phone exchange:
   RUSHOLME
Estimated line speed:
   40Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2013-01-01 01:37:34
Current line speed:
  37 Mb
...I think mine can only go up to 40mb as it suggests.
mushy
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 16-10-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Can you post the picture from the BT speedtest showing the IP Profiles ?
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects



adie:quote
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Your line was provisioned on our up-to 36MB/s product so I've placed a modify order that will get you to your speed estimates. This will complete tomorrow for you, there's nothing you need to do.
Your connection still looks stable, is that the case for you?
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Hello,  yes the connection has been running stable at 36mb. Thank you very much for the update on the speed issue and I will update you when they have been increased. I am very pleased with the service I have been given so far, so again - thank you so much!
dick:quote
elvenmunky
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 09-01-2013

Re: New fibre customer - Constantly disconnects

Hello, the broadband has been stable for a few days now however it is still running at 36mb? Can you tell me when it will be going up to 75mb? Thank you