cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New fibre connection

Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

New fibre connection

Hi guys i just had my fibre connection installed today and just want to make sure everything looks ok , it's different to adsl in not being able to see the connection Stats unless there is something i'm missing
any way this is what is stated in my members centre
i'm the 80 / 20 unlimited  service
Phone exchange:
    RUNCORN EAST
Estimated line speed:
    66Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2014-02-19 18:08:14
Current line speed:
    78 Mb
I did a speed test from speedtest.net and got this
<a href="http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3352225170"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/3352225170.png" /></a>

and here is what BTW says

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download Speed
60.42 Mbps

0 Mbps 62.35 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 60.42 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 49.88 Mbps-62.35 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 62.35 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
10.84 Mbps

0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 10.84Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
I wasn't able to figure out how to post the results as a picture but  the info is there
Does this look as it should, thanks for any info  Smiley




24 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Hi Terranova667,
That looks absolutely fine to me! Smiley Hope you're enjoying the speeds! Wink
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Thanks Linn, yes i'm enjoying the speeds, gone from a 4Mb adsl connection to the nice 60Mb fibre one, cant complain  Grin
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

HI guys I see that my PN profile is 78Mb but my BT profile is 62.35Mb shouldn't they be closer to one another than they are, my estimate on singing up was 66Mb so i'm even down on that,  reading on the forums it seems the profiles should be closer or have i got that wrong,  can someone from PN have the BT profile set to the right level if it's indeed incorrect

my speed tests have dropped a couple of MB also from 60Mb to 58Mb so i don't know if that because of the profiles or something else going on

<a href="http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3357508723"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/3357508723.png" /></a>
this is what BTW says

. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download Speed
58.94 Mbps

0 Mbps 62.35 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 58.94 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 49.88 Mbps-62.35 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 62.35 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
10.86 Mbps

0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 10.86Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

I'm new to fibre so not really sure how it works compared to Adsl which i have a more understanding of, It doesn't help that you don't see any stats like ADSL so cant really see if anything untoward is going on any way thanks for any info / help  Smiley.
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

is anyone able to answer my above question or is that something only PN staff have the knowledge of ?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

Hi Terranova667,
I've just taken a look at your line and I've identified an inconsistency between the connection rate between your Modem and FTTC Cabinet and the Speed Profile set on our suppliers end. I've raised this with them for this to be rectified.
I've updated our internal profile accordingly, I'd expect speeds to return to normal within the next 48 hours. Really sorry about this.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Hi Chris thanks for the reply but why have my profiles been lowered ? wont that make things less than what  i was getting not more
PN profile is now 62.2 Mb down from 78 why that was lowered i don't know
BTW test  now says  IP Profile for your line is - 60.53 Mbps,  that's 2Mb less than before

i'm 6Mb down on my estimate ,  shouldn't the PN profile been left at 78 and the BT profile raised  to be closer to the PN one not the other way around and the PN profile lowered to meet the BT one.
I'm a little confused here can you explain why they have been lowered  after all i'm paying for a 80 /20 service i don't want to be capped if i can get more


Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

Hi,
You're not being capped. Your connection rate between your Cabinet and Openreach Modem is 62Mb. Your IP Profile doesn't correlate correctly on our suppliers systems as they have your speed profile lower.
Your connection rate which is 62Mb may have dropped for one of many different reason. Whilst you pay for an 80/20 service, we can't guarantee those speeds. Your speed estimate is 63Mb down and 19Mb up, we're not too far away from that.
The reason your Speed Profile has been dropped on our side is because it's important that it's aligned correctly for our Traffic Management Platform to be effective. Having your Plusnet Profile higher isn't going to benefit your speeds and is likely to cause you to have worse overall performance. Your IP Profile will pick up once our suppliers investigate this as per my previous post.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Hi Chris ok i get it now that makes sense thanks for the Info I'll wait for BT to update at their end  Smiley
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

No worries Smiley
I'd give it 24-48 hours but it shouldn't be too long.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Chris can you please check and see if your request has been done as there is no change, BTW test still has the profile at 60.53, i'm not sure if i have to just wait a little longer or BT just haven't bothered to change anything yet if that is the case can you ask them why they haven't done so i'm sure it only has to take a couple of seconds to input the correct profile and here i am having to wait days. thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

Hi,
Yep, I'll take a look, you're next on my list Smiley
I'll pop another post here when I've a little more information for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

Our suppliers have completed their testing and they'd like to send out an engineer.
They are looking at completed a DLM Reset as part of the visit. Any ideas when you'd be available?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre connection

Hi Chris thanks for the reply, I'm free for the rest of the week so any day is fine, make it in the AM ie the 8-1pm time slot evenings is tricky with kids being home etc.
if the DLM needs to be reset why does the engineer need to visit the home is it to reset everything or a fault with modem ? just seems strange for what looks like a external issue to have to visit the property as i say i'm new to fibre so have no clue how this all works, seems a lot more completed to do simple things than with ADSL  Grin
anyway let me know what day for the engineer and i'll make sure to be there thanks.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New fibre connection

Hi,
I've booked an engineer in for tomorrow morning between 8am-1pm. We've gone for the engineer option as if the engineer finds that your connection may work better on a different port, it's always a good idea to have the engineer test it from your premises/from the socket and/or Modem.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer