cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

nomadpl
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 06-07-2008

New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

Hi,
I have just kicked off surfing with plus.net and noticed my Upstream has not increased since day 1 (Activation) whereas my downstream rate is between 7-15Mbps.
The slow Upstream affects my Skype calls and I am sure could be more (like ~1Mbps).
Let me share with you my stats and can I ask for your suggestions of what could be wrong (can I get more upload speed, is it stuck IP profile I read about, etc. ?).
(see attachments).
I am on standard Residential Broadband *(up to 16Mbps).
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/189456151.png
BTW Perf test:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 9.27 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 11.25 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.37Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps
Router stats:
ADSL2Plus, Annex A
S/N: 6.4db Down, 24db Up
Line Attn: 22 Down, 12.9 Up
Cheers,
Marek
username: mareknowak
5 REPLIES
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

Those CRC errors look high (Image 1), but there is no indication of a time period (is it a TP-Link? - if so, the upstream CRC errors may not be significant and you may need to use Telnet to get additional info).
You probably need the upstream to be uncapped to get more than 448, if it isn't already and probably worth trying a quiet line test (dial 17070 option 2 if available) to check for noise.
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
nomadpl
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 06-07-2008

Re: New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

Hi,
1. CRC errors - yes, its is a TP-Link, so I would not worry too much about CRC.
2. Just did a Quiet Line Test - no noise.
(I have only 1 phone & 1 router connected to the line).
= Uncapping the upstream looks like a viable option then.

Stats from the router via CLI:
TP-LINK> wan adsl linedata f
relative capacity occupation: 100%
noise margin upstream: 25.9 db
output power downstream: 0.0 dbm
attenuation upstream: 12.9 db
TP-LINK> wan adsl perfdata
near-end FEC error fast: 46518
near-end FEC error interleaved: 0
near-end CRC error fast: 9308
near-end CRC error interleaved: 0
near-end HEC error fast: 26605
near-end HEC error interleaved: 0
far-end FEC error fast: 0
far-end FEC error interleaved: 0
far-end CRC error fast: 65420
far-end CRC error interleaved: 0
far-end HEC error fast: 0
far-end HEC error interleaved: 0
Error second in 15min          : 9
Error second in 24hr            : 764
Error second after power-up    : 1098
ADSL uptime    17:03:36

TP-LINK> wan adsl chandata
near-end interleaved channel bit rate: 0 kbps
near-end fast channel bit rate: 12753 kbps
far-end interleaved channel bit rate: 0 kbps
far-end fast channel bit rate: 443 kbps
Regards,
Marek
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

To answer the original question - raise a ticket here asking that your upstream is uncapped https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=wizard&page=22883&wizard_id=38
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

Hi Marek,
Welcome to Plusnet and our community forums Smiley
I've placed an order to uncap your speeds and also updated your ticket.
Chris
nomadpl
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 06-07-2008

Re: New customer - slow/stuck Upstream

Update 30/04/2013 08:42
Problem resolved - Upstream uncapped.
TP-LINK> wan adsl chandata
near-end interleaved channel bit rate: 0 kbps
near-end fast channel bit rate: 15659 kbps
far-end interleaved channel bit rate: 0 kbps
far-end fast channel bit rate: 1087 kbps

Thank you.
Marek