cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

aguirre
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-07-2016

New TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

I bought a new TP-Link Archer VR600, set it all up. General internet browsing/streaming is quick. But when I am gaming, the ping will go from 40 to 150, right up to 1200 then back down 40.

 

Does it on both Wifi connection and ethernet connection

 

I dont know if i have made a mistake with router set up

 

looking for help!

5 REPLIES
aguirre
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-07-2016

Re: Now TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

Current Rate(kbps) 1102   6510
Max Rate(kbps) 1108    7224
SNR Margin(dB) 6    6.7
Line Attenuation(dB) 23.4    40
Errors(pkts) 3616    48143

 

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Now TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

Have you double checked that nothing is using the upload whilst you're gaming? If anything saturates the upstream you may see ping spikes or similar.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
aguirre
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-07-2016

Re: Now TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

99% no other devices are uploading. i have changed all adsl filters etc to no avail. . .

 

currently sitting at a consistent 200 ping which for fps games online is NOT good.

aguirre
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 30-07-2016

Re: Now TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

nothing to add? anyone? modem router settings which i can cross reference to make sure everything is correct? its highly unusual that even with ethernet there are lag spikes.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Now TP-Link modem router, very inconsistent ping when gaming.

Were you experiencing this problem with your previous router?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team