cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

drfunkenbreakz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

Hi all,
I had Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Installed last Thursday. I have read on the forum contrasting opinions on whether the line should steady after 2 days or 10 days. So i dont know if im too soon to do this.
Right, before I signed up, i spoke to an operator called David on the online chat (Question number 63606945 ). He said:-
David: Estimated download speed: 56Mb
David: Estimated upload speed: 18Mb
I have a full copy of the transcript if you need it.
When the engineer came he said that the fastest my line would do would be just over 60 Mbps, which is just over the estimated from David at Plus.net.
Here are the speeds ive been getting:-
From Speedtest.net just now
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2435666996.png
32.96 Mbps Download
16.57 Mbps Upload
28 ms Ping
From Bt Wholesale Speedtest just now
Download Speed (Mbps): 36.92
Upload Speed (Mbps): 16.09
Ping Latency (ms): 30.00
Download speedachieved during the test was - 36.92 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 16 Mbps-0 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 67.55 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 16.09Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
On my plusnet account it says the following:
Estimated line speed:
    40Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2012-12-20 14:48:03
Current line speed:
    65 Mb
~~~~
40 mb is alot lower than what I was told by both David from Plusnet or the Openreach guy. What do I do from here? Btw these are wired tests after resetting the router and modem.
~~~
I have tested in the early hours of the morning after resetting the modem and router a few times (speed doesnt always go up) and i do get correct speeds, but they dont stay that way. After some time (about 1hr) they go back to sub 40Mb, and IP hasnt changed (which suggests things haven't resynced). See proof here:-
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2427791243.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2427871283.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2430210001.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2430211944.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2430224865.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2430228693.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432329257.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432332173.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432333532.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432335228.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432509796.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2432510826.png
If i go to place an order under the next door's details, estimated speeds are 56Mbps. So something doesnt add upHuh
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

are those tests wired or wireless and what operating system are you using
drfunkenbreakz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

Tests are wired. Using Windows 7 x64. Is there anyway to see sync speeds on the modem? Ive worked in IT for years, and used to tweak SNR on Sky ADSL to get better speeds (so im quite tech minded).

Just done another test and getting around 60 again...Not changed anything here.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2435750995.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

The only way - other than hacking the modem - is to work from the IP profile - multiply it by 1.035 I believe
drfunkenbreakz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: New Fibre Customer. Speed Problem?

Thanks.
Speeds on wifi are now fine and about 60Mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2435803592.png
How bizarre. Consider this fixed for the moment. I will come back if there is any change.