cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New FTTC install, slow speeds

philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

New FTTC install, slow speeds

Hi, new install Friday, I should be getting near the full 80Mb on fibre extra.  Current line speed is 37Mb!
Can someone please take a look?
Ticket open since Friday due to BTO sending 2 seperate engineers to do the line and FTTC install! (ticket 83816427)
Results from BT checker.
BT BROADBAND AVAILABILITY CHECKER
Telephone Number xxxxxxxxxxx on Exchange MONTFORT is served by Cabinet 43
High Low High Low
FTTC Range A (Clean) 80 66.8 20 19.9 -- Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted) 79.5 52.1 20 17.7 -- Available
Bt speedtest result
Results Image not loaded
1. Best Effort Test:
Download Speed : 33.22 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:
Upload Speed : 13.34 Mbps

Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information.
29 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

You may be on the wrong profile, although the over 10Mb upstream usually means it's correct.
What was the IP Profile on your BTwholesale speedtest, and what is your Plusnet Current Line Speed?
(You may have to wait a while to get the answer - as I type the site is down for maintenance).
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Postcode:
Phone exchange:
MONTFORT
Estimated line speed:
66Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2014-03-20 14:15:31
Current line speed:
37 Mb
BT test fails with a error (see original post)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Hi philcecchini,
I'm really sorry for the problems that you're experiencing with low speeds. I've made some back end changes with your Speed Profiles. Can you please restart your router and let us know if the speeds have increased for you?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Yes speedtest is now 73Mb D and 19 Mb U.
I still cant see my profile on the BT checker website though?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

That should display once the back end systems have had time to populate.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Quote from: Chris
That should display once the back end systems have had time to populate.

I still cant see this?
Getting loads of disconnects and generally laggy browsing.
Can you check your end? It seems that the router is rebooting? (I managed to check the setup when it did it just now and I saw that the LAN1 light was out on the modem, but power/DSL were lit)
Do I need to raise a fault?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Hi philcecchini,
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13993800708354.png"/>
From the drops seen above, are any of these from the modem/router being restarted?
Are you connected via Ethernet or Wireless? If Wireless, could you try an Ethernet Cable please?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Hi Chris,
I'm connected wired to the router.
I have not rebooted the router at all. The resets are the router rebooting itself.
I can see the resets emptying the logs.
I also see the latency change in my tbb ping graphs is this normal?
Thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Could you please post up your TBB Graph so we can take a look?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

No problem, let's see what the Faults Team find through testing your line.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Chris, they have returned it as "no fault found"
I have had more reboots, latest just now (approx 19.20).
Do you think the router is at fault?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

Was it the router or the modem that rebooted?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
philcecchini
Grafter
Posts: 39
Registered: 06-04-2014

Re: New FTTC install, slow speeds

It was the router.
Seems to be when in use with several devices.