cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi
I was migrated to FTTC (Unlimited Fibre) yesterday, but I think my IP profile is wrong.
Running a BT Wholesale speed test gives the following results:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 15.82 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is  20 Mbps-16.29 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 16.29 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.24Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps
BT Wholesale ADSL Checker for my line reports the following:
FTTC Range A (Clean) Downstream High: 48.3, Upstream High: 9
Plusnet web portal reports an estimated speed of 34MB with a current line speed of 16MB
Can someone take a look?
Many thanks
16 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi gteck,
I'm really sorry to hear of the issues you're experiencing. I've run a few checks on your line and we've identified an issue on your telephone line.
I can see that we've an order placed to take over your telephone service, which is due to complete on 06/03/2014.
You can either contact your current telephone provider to get them to investigate the issue, or wait for the phone line to move over to us and we'll sort it out for you. It's very likely that the issue on the telephone line is the cause of the fault.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi Chris,
The Openreach engineer told me about the issue with the voice connection on the phone line when he installed the FTTC. (There is actually no dial-tone) and he has reported it, but he said that the FTTC was fine. Are you sure the IP profile is correct?
Regards,
Simon
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi Simon,
The way it works on FTTC is as follows;
When your Openreach Modem is switched on, it makes a connection to the Fibre Cabinet - this gives a 'Sync Rate' - basically a connection rate that your line can connect at between the modem and cabinet.
As soon as this connection is made, the IP Profile (AKA CVLAN Profile) is automatically assigned on the line. On Fibre you're given a Connection Profile as well as an IP Profile , which could be:
Downstream: 40M - 80M Interleaving Low - Upstream: 10 - 20M Interleaving Low (This profile would be set for a customer connecting at a full 80/20 rate)
Here's yours:
Downstream: 0.128M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Off - Upstream: 0.128M-10M Upstream, Interleaving Off
Sync Rate:
Downstream: 16.8 Mbps
Upstream: 0.3Mbps
As you can see, the connection profile is set actually quite wide open so it's definitely not the connection profile that's causing the issue here. What's causing the issue is the fact that your connection (sync) speeds are low, this in turn means that the CVLAN Rate is low (CVLAN Profile = IP Profile). The CVLAN Profile will automatically set itself 96.7% of your sync rate.
Once we clear the fault on your line, and your sync rate improves/increases, your CVLAN Rate will increase automatically.
To summarise;
Your IP Profile/CVLAN Profile will automatically align to 96.7% of your Sync Rate. As your Sync Rate is low at the moment, due to a copper fault, your IP Profile/CVLAN Rate will remain lower than we would like. We need to get the fault resolved to get your sync rate increased, to get those Fibre Speeds pushed through for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
davidfriedlande
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

could you please give me this information for my line?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

This information will be available on Ticket: 81585137 once the Faults Team have completed testing on your line.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

OK, Openreach have finally fixed my phoneline (faulty port in the cabinet apparently) and now i'm getting these results when patched directly into the router:
BT Wholesale Speedtest:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 14.45 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is  20 Mbps-38.13 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 38.13 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 4.88Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps
Plusnet web portal reports an estimated speed of 34MB with a current line speed of 15MB
Can someone check please.
Thanks a lot
Simon.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,956
Thanks: 419
Fixes: 152
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi there
I've just updated that for you now.
If you reboot your router you should see a improvement
Any further issues please let us know
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Cheers Matthew, that's sorted the download speed. The upload speed still seems low though....
Download speed achieved during the test was - 35.85 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is  20 Mbps-38.13 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 36.1 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 5.97Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps
Plusnet web portal reports an estimated speed of 34Mb with a current line speed of 37Mb
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Have your uploads improved at all?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Hi Chris,
no not really:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 35.86 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 20 Mbps-38.67 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 38.67 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 5.34Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps
Can somebody check?
Many thanks,
Simon
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,001
Thanks: 143
Fixes: 47
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Having run some diagnostic checks I can see that the profile on our systems is inline with the BT profile so I'd advise raising a fault as the next step if that's still a problem: http://faults.plus.net
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

That is because he has been provisioned on 40/10 instead of 80/20
gteck
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 09-09-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

So, a couple of questions then, I've signed up to Fibre Unlimited, so does that automatically mean I should have been provisioned on 80/20 FTTC rather than 40/10, or are there other factors that affect this, such as distance to the cabinet, cabinet type etc?
Assuming I have been provisioned on 40/10, considering I'm getting pretty good download speeds then (i.e. 36-38Mb), I would have thought that my upload speed would have been closer to 10mb (currently 5-6mb). Is this an incorrect assumption?
Regards,
Simon
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,001
Thanks: 143
Fixes: 47
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New FTTC Install - Wrong IP Profile ?

Quote
so does that automatically mean I should have been provisioned on 80/20 FTTC rather than 40/10

No, this is because the estimate for your line is below 40mb hence there'd be no advantage of providing you on anything faster.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team