cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New FTTC Disconnections

cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

New FTTC Disconnections

I've had my new FTTC a week now and it's great when it works, but I'm getting quite a few disconnections which have become more frequent today. Should the DLM cause my speed to drop if I get frequent disconnections, because this hasn't happened. I've run the BT Wholesale further diagnostics and my profile is still at 77.44 Mbps. Can someone from Plusnet advise please.
9 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

Hi cbb,
I've just run a quick check on your line but can't see anything obvious that might be causing the drops (from a remote stand point). I think it'd be worth having our faults team take a look over things as there are a fair number of drops
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13835751796164.png"/>
You can raise a fault at http://faults.plus.net so we can get a more in depth look at your line.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

OK, thank you. I'll do that.
cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

Well, I thought I'd cured this, I rebooted everything ant it ran perfectly for well over a day, but then failed again last night. Now I can't connect at all, I'm getting "Concentrator not reachable" from the router. what does this mean? The modem is synced ok. Anyway I've raised a ticket so I suppose I shall just have to wait now.
I don't seem to be having a very good start to Plusnet. Fortunately I haven't cancelled my virgin cable broadband yet so I'm using that at the moment. Virgin is far from perfect but I very rarely has complete disconnections. I hope this isn't going to be a regular occurence.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

If there is a fault with the service - we'll ensure this gets fixed for you.
If you could leave your router for 2-3 minutes and try and re-connect again, that should clear the Concentrator not reachable issue.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

No I've tried leaving the router, I've tried turning it off and leaving it. Whatever I do now I get "Concentrator not reachable"  Direct connection from computer to modem doesn't work either.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

Can you please power down your Modem and Router for 15 minutes and try to reconnect.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

I had already tried that but I've just tried it again. The router just stays stuck on "connecting". I think the concentrator messeage may have been because as it wasn't connecting I was clicking "disconnect" and then "connect" again straight away. That's when I get the concentrator message. Anyway it still won't connect.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

I can see that the fault has been raised with our suppliers for further investigation.
The Concentrator not reachable should have resolved itself following my previous advice, if it hasn't I would await a further update from our faults team on this.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
cbb
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-10-2013

Re: New FTTC Disconnections

Yes I think the concentrator message was me trying to reconnect too quickly. I will bear that in mind for the future. I will wait and see what happens now then. Thanks for your help.