cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer

apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

New Customer

Hi I joined plusnet on Thur after my phoneline provider told me broadband wasn't available on my line. BT Wholesale checker says I will achieve speeds of 0.3-0.5 mb I believe this was because my new properties postcode is wrong and showing as 10KM from the exchange not 1.5km therefore I placed the order regardless to see what my actual router stats are.
Surprise surprise I am all connected and running at  1.8mb on speedchecker a week before my activation date.
The question I have is my speed likely to increase. The router is connected to the exchange at a sync speed of 8mb this line attenuation of 21db
25 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,838
Thanks: 2,021
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New Customer

can you provide any information from your router?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer

There are two possibilities
The IP profile as shown by the BT speedtest is stuck at 2Mb or the Plusnet Current Line Speed https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed is at 2Mb or perhaps both.
This may sort itself out but then given that you appear to be synching at full speed for a 20CN or 21CN ADSL1 line it may require some kicking by the staff
apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: New Customer

I'm not at home atm so no router stats till later.
this is the info from member centre
Telephone number:
    01373834***
Phone exchange:
    FAULKLAND
Estimated line speed:
    0.5Mb (This may vary between 0.75Mb and 4Mb) - Checked on 2012-06-11 10:45:38
Current line speed:
    7.15 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer

That points to the BT IP profile unless of course it has increased today and a speed check this evening will give a much higher speed
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: New Customer

HI apexcctv,
I've just ran a check on your line but you're currently not connected. I can run another one when you are, just let me know.
Jojo Smiley
apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: New Customer

All connected again now.
router stats, in plugged into the test port I have no internal cabling (it a new build)
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 20.0 db 9.0 db
Noise Margin 10.7 db 22.0 db
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer

Can you run the BT speedtest http://speedtester.bt.com/ and report the results
As your exchange is only 20CN any change in the IP profile could take a couple of days to come through
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: New Customer

IIRC isn't 20CN speed capped at 2Mb for the first couple of days training before it reports a profile? The BT Speedtest (Diagnostic) will reveal all  Wink
apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: New Customer

BT Speed Checker test results
Download speedachieved during the test was - 1.86 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 0.4 Mbps-2 Mbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :8.13 Mbps(DOWN-STREAM), 0.45 Mbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 2 Mbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer

That may sort itself out but I doubt it - the Digital Care Team may be able help in the morning.
Until that profile increases you won't see any speed improvement
apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: New Customer

Digital Support  Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: New Customer

Hi apexcctv,
It seems to be a profile issue on our supplier's side. I'll see what I can do.
Jojo Smiley
apexcctv
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: New Customer

Thanks  Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: New Customer

Hi apexcctv,
A bit of digging has revealed that although you are connected, your order isn't due to complete until the 14th, so this means that we can't raise this until the 15th, as your circuit is not identified on their systems yet.
You said you ordered your broadband on Thursday and broadband orders take 5 working days to complete so the 14th makes sense. So, if it doesn't sort the profile by the 15th then shout up and we can chase it for you then.
Jojo Smiley