cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer and getting slow speeds

grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

New Customer and getting slow speeds

Hi
Perhaps I should not be posting just yet but my connection is a stable 1.8mb download with a ping at about 50, my line went live last Friday 30/11 but is alot slower than the 7.5 +/- 1 promised when I purchased my package and I cannot see that it will get any faster after the weekend which will be 10 days.
I have tried varies sockets in my home inc the master with no speed difference.
Please help

Graham
92 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Please post the information requested here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html and then we will have a much better idea what is going on
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

As well as the above, just to check - did you check the sync speed as reported in the router in each of the different sockets? The line speed won't uplift straight away so even if it does sync faster you won't see any difference in speed when using the connection. The only way you'll notice the difference is to check what the router is reporting.
Apologies if you did do this.
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Hi
Thanks for your quick replies , hope this is the info you need.
Results from socket in living room
Uptime: 0 days, 4:08:23
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2.592
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 39,03 / 516,46
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 17,9
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,0 / 47,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,0 / 12,0

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 17 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 2 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1.013 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 67 / 62.311
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 66 / 1.079
HEC Errors (Up/Down): -6 / 1.079 / 15.102
Results from master socket in study (lower floor of house)
Uptime: 0 days, 0:00:58
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 2.208
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1,35 / 7,75
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,3 / 17,3
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30,5 / 46,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21,0 / 11,9

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 26 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 92 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 274
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 4
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 4 / 33
Matt, I hope this gives you the sync info you need as I'm not sure how to check it.
Thanks

Graham
jim:green Stats tidied up and the critical one made bold mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,821
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 23
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Okay, the Master Socket should have a faceplate which you can detach (a little way) by removing the screws on the bottom half and then gently pulling this part out.  You'll find that behind the faceplate is another socket called the test socket.  You need to measure and post your stats with the router in this test socket.  Also check that the phone in the living room is now dead (assuming that you have one plugged into the socket there).
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

I have tidied up the post to make it easier to read.
A few points
The speed from the master socket is lower because it was synched in the dark - any future things should be done during daylight hours if at all possible
The default noise margin is 12dB presumably because of problems on the line
Even allowing for the high default noise margin your speeds are a bit low for your attenuation
I suspect, as ReedRichards is suggesting indirectly, that your internal wiring is mucking things up.
Note to avoid the risk of the automatic systems seeing more instability on the line you should always disconnect from the line using the connect/disconnect opytion on your router then leave it a few minutes before disconnecting the router from the telephone line or creating a resync event
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,821
Thanks: 117
Fixes: 23
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Quote from: Oldjim
I suspect, as ReedRichards is suggesting indirectly, that your internal wiring is mucking things up.

I'm not so much suggesting this indirectly as making sure you run the test that should eliminate or substantiate this possibility.  If your phone extensions are wired correctly then they should all be wired into the faceplate of your master socket so they should all be isolated when you remove the faceplate.  So if you connect to the test socket behind the facepalte and get a better downstream sync rate then we know that something inside your house is causing your problem.  Then we can track it down and fix it.   
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Hi
These are the results of the socket under the plate of the master socket and the wires for the rest of the house run from here.
Glad of any help
Uptime:0 days, 0:09:03
DSL Type:ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.648
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]:373,07 / 3,57
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12,1 / 19,4
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:30,0 / 46,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:21,0 / 15,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote):BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote):-
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):14 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down):1 / 2.265
CRC Errors (Up/Down):1 / 35
HEC Errors (Up/Down):- / 35 / 207
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

So you have gained over 1Mb/sec with a default noise margin increased to 15dB
Clearly your internal wiring has been screwing something up unless or additionally you has something connected without a filter such as a Sky box
When you removed the front plate how many wires were connected to it
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Four wires
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

There should only be two - this explains why and which ones should be there http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm
To be clear only wires blue/white and white/blue should be connected to 2 and 5
Although it doesn't say so I also wrap a bit of insulating tape around the bare ends of the wires you have disconnected to avoid any possibility of a short circuit
It should only be necessary to remove the orange wires from the master faceplate although if, when testing from another socket, you still have a lower sync speed you can also remove them from the other sockets
Once you have done all this and we are happy with the results then you should ask Plusnet to instigate a retrain which will give you significantly increased speed and also reset the speed fault level below which you can raise a problem with BT Openreach via Plusnet
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Do you normally have the router in the master socket or one of the extensions?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Jelv, one of the extensions
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

That rules out one of the possible solutions.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
grahamholmes
Grafter
Posts: 78
Registered: 06-12-2012

Re: New Customer and getting slow speeds

Hi
I have disconnected the orange/white wires on the  master, bedroom and living room socket's, the results are better.
Living room results (which is my main position for the router)
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.296
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:    30,0 / 47,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:            22,0 / 15,8
Master socket (with face plate back in place)
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 3.712
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:    30,0 / 46,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:            22,0 / 15,3
Thanks for your help and please advise