cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

triopowell
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-02-2012

New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

Morning,
Hooked up router onto new connection last night, all fired up connected etc, however has connected at 128kbps downstream and 64kbps upstream, which is somewhat slower than the quoted 3.5mbps, and somewhat disappointing.
Appreciate there is a 10 day training period for the line / exchange to settle down, but at this current speed its completely unusable. Spoke to support last night who said that it should improve over time, and should be better this morning, but to no avail, same speed.
Am I going to have to be patient, or is there something more untoward going on?
Thanks
TrioPowell
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

That sounds like a major problem.
Are you sure that all phones, Sky boxes etc. are filtered.
Can you try the test socket

or if you aren't sure where it is have a lok at this video
triopowell
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-02-2012

Re: New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

Just done via test socket, reconnected at the same 128 / 64.
Absolutely nothing else connected just the router straight off the socket.
Have changed the micro-filter also to a known good one, but still no different.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

I suggest you call faults again.
There is something seriously wrong and don't let them fob you off with statements that it will improve - it won't
If you post the stats from your router - speeds, noise margin and attenuation it will provide more information.
Hopefully a member of the Digital Care Team will spot this
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

128/64 is a lock on Cisco DSLAMS... We had this issue 2-3 years ago so most people on Faults and pretty much all of Tech won't remember it... Raise a fault through the normal link and add a note to say that Ben says it's a Cisco DSLAM issue and it'll get actioned by the right people Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: New Customer, New Very Slow Connection...

Cancel that, I fixed it for you Smiley
Upstream Link Info

Loop Loss Loop Loss Add Text SNR Margin Errored Seconds HecErrors Cell Count Speed
17 25.2 0 0 347010 448

Downstream Link Info

Loop Loss Loop Loss Add Text SNR Margin ErroredSeconds HecErrors CellCount Speed
39 6 181 0 1914319 8128
Your line's performing rather well for the loss so if it maintains this level of performance keep your eye on SamKnows for the 21CN activation date (currently 31-08-2012) and raise a ticket for an ADSL2+ regrade - whilst the estimated speed isn't great, you could easily achieve more than your current 8mbps sync Smiley