cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Hi All,
I have just joined PlusNet in a new house so I don't have previous experience of the connection speed here.
I am getting under 2 Mbps according to the BT Speed Checker on http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
I have received an automated email from PlusNet saying my estimated line speed is 5 Mbps and current line speed is 1.7 Mbps.
I have tried the following:
- Plugging router directly into test socket of BT master socket - no difference
- Tried a different router - no change
- Tried a differed computer - no change
- Done a noise test and there is no line noise
My parent's house, which is half a mile up the road is actually getting nearly 5 Mbps on PlusNet despite being further away from the exchange.
I am concluding that the fault may be with the line somewhere given I have isolated the internal wiring by using the test socket.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Could post all the information asked for in this post: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html please.
We particularly need all the modem stats.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,897
Thanks: 12
Fixes: 2
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

I'd expect you to get a faster synch speed that you see currently.
The profile is correct (1.7Mbit for the current sync rate) though. There are a number of tests to which you'll be advised about when we have the stats.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Thanks. I will follow the procedure and get the stats this evening.
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

The outputs from the speed faults topic are as follows:
1) Router stats - I have a new Sagem Fast 2704N as supplied by Plusnet (F@ST2704N), so the only route to get line stats appears to be to click "Helpdesk" in the main menu.
This is the output of that link:
Your Plusnet adviser may ask you for the following information:
1 - Product name: Plusnet Router
2 - Serial number: N7150291B012512
3 - Firmware version: 7.273.1_F2704N_Plusnet
4 - Board version: F@ST2704N
5 - Mode ADSL
6 - Uptime: 0 days 00:16:44
7 - Data rate: 915/4891
8 - Maximum data rate: 944/4996
9 - Noise margin: 6.8/6.4
10 - Line attenuation: 31.4/51.0
12 - Data sent/received: 1.7M/6.1M
20 - Broadband username: XXXXX@plusdsl.net
21 - Wi-Fi network/SSID: PLUSNET-6QKG39
22 - Wi-Fi connections: Enable(802.11 b/g/n(up to 144 Mb/s))20 MHz WPS enabled
23 - Wi-Fi security: WPA2
24 - Wi-Fi channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
25 - Firewall: Default
26 - MAC Address: 44:e9:dd:af:c3:b3
27 - Software variant Version 1.0
28 - Boot loader: 7.273.1
2) Results of the BT Speed Test (http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/) are as follows:
Download speed: 1.79 Mbps
Upload speed: 0.78 Mbps
Ping Latency: 32.38 ms
3) Current Line Speed as on Plusnet (https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed):
Postcode:
Phone exchange:
HARROW
Estimated line speed:
5Mb (This may vary between 3Mb and 7.5Mb) - Checked on 2015-03-14 11:44:29
Current line speed:
1.8 Mb
Thanks very much for your help.
adie:green removed users user name]
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Suggest remove lines 20 and 21 from the post
The sync speed isn't bad but the Plusnet Profile is due to a very low sync speed as reported before it resynched
Are you sure that all other devices on the phone line are filtered
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

I am currently plugged into the test socket of the master socket so all the other extensions in the house are currently dead.
The only connection on the line is the router, through a ADSL filter.
I have tried swapping filters as well but no change.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

That would suggest that plugging into the test socket has fixed the problem
So either you have some duff wiring or when you were plugged into the normal socket something in your house was plugged in without a filter - phone, Sky box, alarm system are some which spring to mind
The Plusnet Current Line Speed should increase to 4.3 Mbps over night
Check and report back in the morning
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Morning. Just did the BT speed test at around 6am and am still only getting 1.75mbps down and 0.75mbps up.
Is there anything else I can do?
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

What is the IP Profile being reported by the BT speed test? Does the current line speed shown by https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed match?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds


My BT profile is as follows:
Telephone Number xxxxxxxxxxx on Exchange HARROW is served by Cabinet 92

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 4.5 -- 3 to 7 Available
ADSL Max Up to 3.5 -- 2.5 to 6.5 Available
WBC Fixed Rate  1  -- -- Available
Fixed Rate  1  -- -- Available
Other Offerings
Copper Multicast -- -- -- Available

Line speed shown by Plusnet (https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed) is below:
Postcode:
Phone exchange:HARROW
Estimated line speed:5Mb (This may vary between 3Mb and 7.5Mb)  - Checked on 2015-03-14 11:44:29
Current line speed:1.8 Mb

Some Googleing around suggests that my line attenuation is very high. I am only 1.6km away from the exchange and plugged into the master test socket.
What could be causing such high attenuation?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

That's the availability check not the speed test!
Go to http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ - when the first part completes click the Further Diagnostics button at the bottom.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,897
Thanks: 12
Fixes: 2
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

I think the good people of this forum have just saved you an engineer callout fee!
The sync is much better than it was when I checked the account yesterday, and we're currently waiting on bRAS to increase. I'm doing another line test now which will hopefully confirm the issue has been resolved.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
kunalkoth2015
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-04-2015

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

Yes, it's a fantastic forum. Thanks for all the help guys.
I will do the proper BT speed test + further diagnostic this evening after work and see if it has improved.
Cheers
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,897
Thanks: 12
Fixes: 2
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: New Customer Getting Very Slow Speeds

I've done a check and it's not increased yet. I should increase over the next day or so.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team