cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

My internet is due to go active on saturday on the Plusnet unlimited package, i was contacted on twitter that i can get fastpath and i can also get my upload speed uncapped form 0.37 to around 1 mbps or not far below. i would like fastpath profile as i game alot and would like a better upload for possible video uploads.
40 REPLIES
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 50
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

A PN staff should be able to help you with this shortly. 
PM Chris Purvey, Matt Taylor if urgent.
Welcome to plusnet
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Hi  MickHowes1,
Welcome to the forums. Your Local Exchange does not have ADSL2 (Up to 16Mb) support yet, therefore your line has been provisioned on 20CN (Up to 6Mb). With 20CN we can uncap the upload, however this is chargeable and comes under the <a href="http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/products/prioritised-service-faq.shtml">Max Premium</a> option.
I can certainly arrange for your line to be on Fastpath once your broadband order completes without any problems.
Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Yes i would like to be on fastpath, and do i need to pay for uncapping my upload? there was no mention of this on twitter from a representetive... and will i bew able to get a low ping of say 15-20 etc? and my line speed estimated in ym contract was between 7-8mbps and upto 16 mb unlimited package
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Your speed estimate does say 8Mbps, however, the product is advertised Up to 6Mb) as per Ofcom regulations. Some lines may achieve speeds which exceed this, however it is advertised lower as a large amount of people on 20CN are unable to achieve 8Mbps speeds - you may well be an exception.
It's impossible for me to say what ping rates you are going to get, however, I would guess that your pings will be low if you are relatively close to your Local Exchange (If you're estimated good speeds, you are likely near the exchange). Your exchange does not have 21CN (Up to 16Mb) technology installed in it, which is why we are unable to provide you with that service.
When the technology does become available, we will be sure to migrate you over free of charge. As I stated previously, on 20CN, the uncapping your upload speeds is chargeable on the Max Premium product. Once your exchange is regraded to ADSL2 and we migrate you onto it, we can uncap your upload speeds without any issues, free of charge.
Let us know when your broadband order completes and we'll make sure you are on fastpath.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

im bout a 1minute walk to my exchange bout 50 yards? my ping times on VM fastpath were 19-22ms am i likely to see this again? and the deal i got was Upto 16mbps download speed, im not complaing i mean i havent even got it in yet..... but im hoping to be on about 6.94mbps because virgin gave3 me tht for a whle then started capping me.. there downloads are awful but pings are good.....
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

We can only really go on what is available at your exchange.
I honestly couldn't say what your exact speeds or pings are going to be, only because there are quite a few factors that could determine what you will get. Those factors include, your line length, cable quality and the quality of your own internal wiring for example.
Once you're connected up, we'll certainly take a look at your connection and ensure we're getting the best from your line - if you're not, we'll work with you to get the best we can out of it for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

I'm also on a 20CN only exchange. I have the Max Premium upgrade and am about 0.7 mile from the exchange.

Hope that helps
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

thanks for the post lad, seeing your speedtest it looks asif itd be mint for cod, have u got fastpath profile? and if so what db id love a 24 pinggggg
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,637
Thanks: 868
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Yes, that is fastpath
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

do you roughly know what ur ping is on interleaved?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

what is fastpath ?
MickHowes1
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 31-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

rough description - basically instead of packets taking extra unneeded steps they go alot quicker, thereby loweing your latency on your line and responding alot quicker.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,183
Thanks: 1,330
Fixes: 60
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Or for a more 'in depth' explanation http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/interleaving.htm

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: New Customer, Fastpath request + Uncap upload

Quote from: MickHowes1
rough description - basically instead of packets taking extra unneeded steps they go alot quicker, thereby loweing your latency on your line and responding alot quicker.

and does it affect downstream or upstream speeds?