cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

BTOR recently replaced mu decaying, 12 months old fibre modem. The new one is producing a much faster D/L & is running much cooler. I've just noticed that this one has a reset button next to the power input socket. Does anyone know what it does?
Yes I know, it resets the modem but what is the purpose of the reset?
9 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 11,078
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

Try it,  Grin

deadman2020
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎24-06-2013

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

It's for when you nobble it Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

I can see that I'll have to wait a while before I get a serious answer!  Roll eyes
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

one would presume , its the same as the reset on your router , shutting down the connection & restart  Wink
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

Quote
shutting down the connection & restart

OK, thanks, so the same as recycling the power?
Champnet
Pro
Posts: 486
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

If it's a Factory Reset, probably not.............
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

Maybe someone at PN will know the answer?  Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

Any model numbers / markings on the modem? (Usually on the bottom).  If we know which one you have you may get a more specific answer.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: New BT Modem...what does the reset button do?

It's an ECI BFOCUS V-2Fub/r. It's about 30% bigger than the old HG612 & has increased my speed by 30%. It also runs at a considerably lower temperature.