cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

barcud
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2014

Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

Hi,

After a recent purchase of a WD 2-bay NAS I now realise I need to update my router (and buy a gigabit switch too).

The TG585 v7 was supplied by Plusnet 6 years ago and is of course 10/100 only, and I now need gigabit.

Also I'd like better WiFi - 802.11ac.

What options are there? I'm not keen on spending vast amounts. 

Should I ask Plusnet for an upgrade? If so, what would they be able to offer?

 

John

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 171
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

Yes if you're generally happy to stay with PlusNet, they should able to offer you a new router, you just have to pay for delivery (£6.99 I think). I'm not sure whether that will involve a new contract.

You'd best ask them, but the Fibre router they supplied me has much better Wi-Fi coverage (in my experience) than the Thomson. I guess it is just an improvement in technology.

wisty
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 434
Thanks: 53
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

If you don't want to re-contract try picking up a BT  or PlusNet Hub on that well known auction site. I recently picked up a couple of BT Business Hubs (4 * GB Ethernet + ac wireless) for about a tenner each delivered. 

barcud
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2014

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

Wisty,

Any setup problems with the BT Business Hub 5?

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

I believe the steps are very similar to the ones here: https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Do-want-to-use-a-BT-Homehub-3-or-2-on-Plusnet-ADSL-or-FTTC/m...

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
wisty
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 434
Thanks: 53
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

None at all really.

See https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/A-BT-Business-Hub-5A-on-Plusnet/m-p/1460372#M3701

for a description of my experiences.

Setup was simple, it even allowed me to use the 10.0.0.0/24 address range , which apparently the HH will not let you use.

The biggest issue was that Google thought the router was 150 miles away (where I got it from) and it took several weeks before my Android phone stopped giving me weather from somewhere I wasn't.

barcud
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2014

Re: Need to replace my TG585 v7 - Recommendations please

Thanks Wisty, and Chris too.

Excellent info reinforces the BT Business Hub 5 router as a good idea.

Good practical advice Wisty regarding likely behaviour (and ebay claiming something is new......well, lets not go there.)

 

John