cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to open ports on a TG585 for Home signal box

stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Need to open ports on a TG585 for Home signal box

Hello all
If I'm getting 6.8 download in my speed test what would you guys expect for an upload speed?
(I'm asking because I've had problems with my new mobile provider (3) and they have given me a home signal box to boost things, but now I only get 3G or an H and no normal phone signal, so no calls or texts  Roll eyes )
They asked for speed tests and seemed surprised at my upload speed which was 0.34 ?Huh
jim:green Title changed to reflect the actual problem - see this post mod:end
Quote from: stewarta13wsb
TG585 is the router, but I just found more info with a quick Google.
The support guy asked me to check various ports - all of which were closed - he didn't say if that was right or wrong, but I just found this post on another forum -
"Not entirely there fault as apparently I need to get some ports opened on my router.......Need help with this part, the ports are '80, 443, 53, 123, 500 and 4500'. Not sure if I need them all open or just 1 of them. While I can get into the settings of my router and change a few things, ports is not 1 of the things I know a lot about, any help is welcome, thanks."
Could have been written by me  Grin
20 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

Please post the router stats as I suspect that your upspeed is either at 448kbps (20CN or 21CN ADSL1) or 443 or 444 (ADSL2 capped)
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

Is this what you are after -
View more...
Uptime: 0 days, 19:40:18
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 8,128
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

It is indeed and it looks as though you are on 20CN
If you put your data in here http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/  does it say anything about  WBC on 21CN
I would have expected slightly higher results from the speed test - try this one http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/ as this is mine with a 480kbps upstream speed
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

BT have advised that no current planned date for WBC on 21CN exists ..... you realise of course I have no idea what I'm cutting and pasting  Embarrassed Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

Pity - then you are stuck with an upstream speed of 448kbps unless you really must have more and then you can pay extra for it (Max Premium)
See my edit above - can you see what this gives for upstream speed http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

My Broadband Speed says there is a fault and the results may be wrong? SO I tried Speedtest.net and got this -


Broadbandmax.co.uk gave me 368 kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

Ignore the fault bit - however this is what I get

So something is a bit adrift as both your speeds are a bit low
Are you connected by wire or wireless
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

My PC by ware, everyone else by wi-fi.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

In which case I don't know why it is a bit low unless one of the other devices are using it
Going back to your original question - you are more or less stuck with the speeds you have
However can we help  address the root problem
Quote
they have given me a home signal box to boost things, but now I only get 3G or an H and no normal phone signal, so no calls or texts
In order to help we would need to know which router you have
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

The normal one from PlusNet - the creamy white Thomson one.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

Model number please as most of them are creamy white I believe - alternatively when did you receive it
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: upload average

TG585 is the router, but I just found more info with a quick Google.
The support guy asked me to check various ports - all of which were closed - he didn't say if that was right or wrong, but I just found this post on another forum -
"Not entirely there fault as apparently I need to get some ports opened on my router.......Need help with this part, the ports are '80, 443, 53, 123, 500 and 4500'. Not sure if I need them all open or just 1 of them. While I can get into the settings of my router and change a few things, ports is not 1 of the things I know a lot about, any help is welcome, thanks."
Could have been written by me  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: upload average

Embarrassed Will now wait for someone who knows what he is talking about to help
I have changed the thread title to make it more obvious where help is needed
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Need to open ports on a TG585 for Home signal box

Many thanks for getting me this far, can't see anything a newbie can do to open a port though.... probably a good thing  Crazy