cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

iambatman
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-02-2010

NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

I can't access RTE player as my ip is based in england, can I get issued a northern ireland specific ip address if I add a static ip address to my account?
8 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,187
Thanks: 1,837
Fixes: 158
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

I'm currently watching a program about extreme commuters on RTÉ Player. I live in Sheffield.
Have you tried dropping and re-establishing your PPP session?

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 63.0 (64-bit)

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

RTÉ Player is working on my static IP address in Essex !
There are some interesting programs there, I will have to visit the site more often  Smiley
http://www.rte.ie/player/#
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

Works in Gloucestershire, 20CN exchange, Gateway ptn-ag03.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

If you can log in to our website and open a support ticket FAO: Bob Pullen we'll pick it up.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

Robin says, you are probably on a IP address that isn't being picked up as UK when it should.  PN has a few of those at the moment, a router reboot can help to get a new IP adress if you have a dynamic IP.  But don't do that too many times or BT will cripple your speeds.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

[pedant mode]
You shouldn't reboot, you lose sync with the exchange, you should Gateway hop by Disconnecting your PPP Internet session and then Connecting again by logging into your modem/router Internet Interface.
[/pedant mode]
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

I don't know why you put the [pedant mode] markers - it is very sensible advice!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,545
Thanks: 1,241
Fixes: 100
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: NI-specific IP address for RTE Player?

@iambatman, as mentioned by Chris - If you raise a support ticket for my attention I will get this sorted for you without you having to gateway hop.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵