cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My disconnects

Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

My disconnects

Three or four weeks back on a whim I decided to install DG Team firmware on my reserve Netgear router. After a few days I reinstalled my 585v7. All seemed well until a drop increased the noise margin to ~9-12.
Recently the margin appeared to be reducing, until the drops of last night and this morning (see pdfs), and also DSL info from router
Other matter related? http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,94312.0.html  
	DSL Connection	
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 8:00:29
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 6,048
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 13.0 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.0 / 46.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 17.5 / 5.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 22 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 93 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 324 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 992
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 807

Connection is by Ethernet via a hard wired in cavity  extension off main socket immediately below.
jim:green quote shrunk to remove blank lines mod:end
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
53 REPLIES
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

Three more today 11:xx 13:xx 18:xx, the last taking me down to 5147kbps. So what's the PITA cause?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Highlighted
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

I'bathed and used so it's safe to reply  now.Grin
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

Perhaps it is time to change the thread title Grin
It is most unusual for a thread started four days ago not to have any third party responses; not like the Plusnet Community at  all Shocked.
So, please, what's the problem?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

In the absence of any response to thread
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,94353.0.html (Last 24 hours) and guided by advice from another forum, I have raised a ticket 40892221 asking that my Interleaving status be checked to see if it is actually ON These from my router, I am told indicate it is OFF
Link Information

Uptime: 1 day, 17:22:27
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 5,379
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 2.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.5 / 46.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.5 / 8.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 22 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 144 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 491 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): NA / 3,243
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2,581
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,677
Thanks: 1,074
Fixes: 60
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: My disconnects

Just wondering how interleaving status is related to the subject of this thread?
Have you worked through the dropping connection guide and if appropriate reported a dropping connection fault at http://faults.plus.net/? If the faults analysis process requires interleaving to be on it will happen.
In fact the setting might be "auto" but the DLM has turned it off because it doesn't feel it's needed.
David
Force9Original
Grafter
Posts: 352
Registered: 05-02-2010

Re: My disconnects

The speed touch  can't really  handle a IFTN msan on fastpath with loop loss over 40db. ( it  can struggle on interleave as well )
A 2wire 2700 router can, & Netgear DG834 GT  has a good crack at it.
There are well know issues with IFTN huawei msan's on long lines .
If you need fastpath for gaming ect, then a router change might be the way to go.  If not (INP 2)  "should "settle things down.
Thx F9o
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

Quote from: spraxyt
Just wondering how interleaving status is related to the subject of this thread?

No but does to the thread that seemed to have been disregarded. Wink
Quote
Have you worked through the dropping connection guide and if appropriate reported a dropping connection fault at http://faults.plus.net/? If the faults analysis process requires interleaving to be on it will happen.
As yet not, but all the connections look firm. I have two spare tailed filters of varied shape of unknown provenance, so maybe I should get ones that are new?. Lastly I need to find a convenient time as running a wire from test socket on gf to 1f bedroom is a a pain and not on Er Indoors' approved list.

Quote
In fact the setting might be "auto" but the DLM has turned it off because it doesn't feel it's needed.

Unaware that auto existed for interleaving, so DLM sees a good connection and sets fast path, and EU suffers drops with result that connection is worse than it would be! OMG!
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

Hi! Smiley
Quote from: Force9Original
The speed touch  can't really  handle a IFTN msan on fastpath with loop loss over 40db. ( it  can struggle on interleave as well )
I believe you, but OOI is there any "official" evidence, or id it empirical?
Quote
A 2wire 2700 router can, & Netgear DG834 GT  has a good crack at it.
Both are legacy IIRC. I am wary of Ebay. What chipset do they have. Isn't Broadcom reckoned to be best?
There are well know issues with IFTN huawei msan's on long lines .
Quote
If you need fastpath for gaming ect, then a router change might be the way to go.  If not (INP 2)  "should "settle things down.

No gaming, but what is INP2?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

All I can think of is the standard checks for the dropping connection, to be honest - though I think spraxyt's mentioned those in a different thread. Sorry I can't add anything new :/
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My disconnects

I can't help on solving it but I would install Routerstats and get a continuous monitor of your router - something may show up such as surge in errors or sudden drop in noise margin
Force9Original
Grafter
Posts: 352
Registered: 05-02-2010

Re: My disconnects

I see you post on Kitz  Wink
Have a search on there or ask, about the dreeded IFTN msan's on long lines. (If you know a friendly BT Openreach Frames Engineer ask what they think of them)
The 2 wire works well by pairing the two infineon chipsets & the filmware generally better. ( Version 6 is a little buggy on the BT version)
http://www.kitz.co.uk/routers/2wire_2700_HGV.htm
BT sent loads of 2wires out to their business clients. Hence you can pick up a brand new sealed version for less than plusnet charge for their speedtouch. Just research the filmware versions first. They work  out of the box on Plusnet no matter which BT filmware is pre- installed ( no unlocking). Lots of info on the link below
http://bt2700hgv.tripod.com/002.htm
As for broadcom's they like the most routers, work best if paired to a matching msan.
When used on a huawei , the  broadcom based chipsets 6338 through 6358 can be hit & miss.
Taking the speedtouch family of routers for example, the 6338 which is in the 585v7 doesn't perform as well as the 6348 thats in the earlier 585v6. The newer 6358 found in the later speedtouch 587n's  also peform better than the 6338's. Filmware also has a lot to do with how well the broadcoms perform. Generally the Broadcom netgear routers seem to read line data better than the Thomsons.
INP = Impluse noise protection & its relevant levels of setting.
thx f9o
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

Thanks for links etc. PM on way. Smiley
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,285
Thanks: 328
Fixes: 3
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: My disconnects

I have the Lite version installed, and am anaylsing the connection and noise logs. Do I need the full version of RouterStats then to record errors?
BTW had a drop just before 17:00 with server and sync change, this time upwards,
Time	Message	

Warning Mar 18 16:58:27 PPP link up (Internet) [87.114.237.220]

Info Mar 18 16:58:27 PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok

Info Mar 18 16:58:26 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = pcl-ag01)

Info Mar 18 16:58:26 PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red5.bs)

Warning Mar 18 16:58:10 PPP link down (Internet) [91.125.83.223]

Info Mar 18 16:58:00 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 5827 kbit/s, upstream: 443 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.0 dBm, Up: 13.0 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 46.0 dB, Up: 25.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 9.0 dB, Up: 21.0 dB)

Info Mar 18 16:57:35 xDSL linestate down

Info Mar 18 16:57:10 xDSL linestate down

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My disconnects

It may be router dependent
Certainly with the full version on my DG834G v4 I get this chart and it is very useful