cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

simonides
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-02-2018

My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

I'm using a desktop computer with Windows 10, so there's no fancy GPS like laptops, smart phones or tablets might have.

Any web services that respond to my location report consistently that I'm a hundred or more miles from where I actually live.

Why is this, and how can I correct it?

As an example: https://ctrlq.org/maps/where/ or https://www.where-am-i.net/ report that I'm in Newbury  

If I run a VPN, the location tools report an appropriate location.

I'm actually in Dorset and http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway tell me my Point of Presence is in Colindale.  

thanks in advance

Simonides

7 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,016
Thanks: 1,455
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

It's probably where the exit node for your connection is located, so where the you ultimately connect to the internet.
Nothing you can do about it.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,001
Thanks: 651
Fixes: 43
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

For location aware apps & websites setting a default location in Windows 10 may help.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
simonides
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-02-2018

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

Thanks Browni - that seems not to help. I've set my location but https://www.where-am-i.net/ still thinks I'm in Newbury! 

 

Thanks dvorak - I think you may be right, nothing I can do about it, unless anyone else has an idea!

 

 

Simonides.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,090
Thanks: 2,449
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

@simonides,

A warm welcome to the forums.

The geolocation information is not so much about where your PC is, but rather where the currently allocated dynamic IP address is thought to be.

Geolocation data gathers use various methods to work out where an IP address is - for example one technique is to associate GPS data from (say) a mobile phone connected (via wifi) with the IP address THEN allocated to the router.  Such data association can out last the duration that a particular router has that dynamic address.

Some would argue caution about allowing external systems to know exactly where you are.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,010
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

Hi there,

 

Is there a particular reason you wanted the location of the desktop to be shown? I'm asking in case we can recommend a different solution for you. 

 

Alternately if you were just wondering why it's showing as Colindale then it's not something that could be changed. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
simonides
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-02-2018

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

Hello Adamwalker - only that some website provide content tailored to one's location. An example is https://places-to-eat-near-me.com/restaurants/ which provides me with an excellent selection of restaurants in Banbury - an impressive 123 miles to my North!!!  This set me thinking : first why is this happening and second what could I do, if anything, to correct my location.  

thanks

Simonides

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,001
Thanks: 651
Fixes: 43
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: My desktop computer location is not reported correctly by Windows or the Internet.

I would check your browser settings for allowing location as that site does request location from my browser

browser location.png

which it gets correct after I click allow.

That could only have came from the default location I set as geoip location services show either Sheffield or Colindale for my location.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.