cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Profile Has Changed

ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

My Profile Has Changed

Hi there,
After several days of router reboots (due to a faulty router) my profile according to your website, has gone down to 1.6Mb, from 2.1Mb
I was hoping someone at Plusnet would be able to increase this back to 2.1?
My router has now started to train itself again and detected that the line speed should be able to achieve 2.1Mb, so I would appreciate it if, this can be done.
Plusnet: please let me know what info you need from me?
Thanks in advance!
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=141292347051857736373
194 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: My Profile Has Changed

can you post the stats from the router - noise margin, speed and attenuation - as it may be that the default noise margin has increased
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Is this what you need?
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 800 2240
Max Rate (Kbps) 972 2272
SNR Margin (dB) 6 4.5
Line Attenuation (dB) 31.5 63.5
Errors (Pkts) 0 0
Current line speed: (according to Plusnet under High Speed Broadband Option)
   1.7 Mb
adie:quote
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi ListerofSmeg
I've tweaked a few settings on your line so you should go back up to 2.1mb. It needs to also be updated on our suppliers side so it may take up to 24 hours.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Brilliant, cheers mate
adie:quote
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hey there MattyC,
Just checked my line and the speed hasn't gone up :/
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi,
I've just spoken to BT. The bRAS profile has increased for you, and so I've matched this at our side.
If you disconnect and then reconnect, you should find that your throughput increases.
Let me know if it doesn't.
Tony
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi there Tony,
I have disconnected & reconnect but my net has now dropped and my ping has gone through the roof as well as my snr :/
I did a speedtest at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ which shows: DL 1.74, UL 0.66 Ping: 363.75
PS What modulation type should I set in my router as it's currently on ADSL_G.dmt (which i hear is good for long distances) but there are loads of different options: ADSL, ADSL2+, T1.413 or AUTO
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,742
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 78
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Having checked your details ADSL2+ would be the most appropriate one in your case.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi Adam,
Having just changed to ADSL2+ my net has dropped :/
I'm now connecting at 1.4Mb but speedtest shows 1.24
Current Rate (Kbps) 744 1448
Max Rate (Kbps) 748 1388
SNR Margin (dB) 6.2 5.7
Line Attenuation (dB) 38.4 69
Errors (Pkts) 0 0
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Having my net on ADSL2+ causes my router to drop the ADSL Signal :/
I've gone back to GDMT
DanHodby
Grafter
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎23-10-2013

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hey ListerofSmeg,
I've checked a few things and it looks like we'll have to get an engineer out. Anything we change remotely doesnt seem to be working. If can you PM me your availability I'll book the appointment in for you.
Cheers,
Dan
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi Dan,
I've sent you a pm
Cruise85
Grafter
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-08-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi ListerofSmeg,
Dan has just walked into the office, so I'll ask him to pick up his PM's and get in touch with you shortly to arrange an appointment
Regards
Matt
ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: My Profile Has Changed

Hi there team,
I though I'd mention that my router has lost it's signal several times this week and I've noticed a pattern:
2014-10-17 11:58:49 PPP Information ppp1 sent [CHAP Response id=0x1 <1712f5377a3833d496845521ecc8634d>, name = "myusername"
2014-10-17 11:58:48 PPP Warning ppp1 LCP down
2014-10-17 11:58:48 PPP Error ppp1 LCP down
And it will do this several times a day.  I'll mention this to the engineer too.