cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Opinion

Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

My Opinion

Hi all!
I have been with PlusNet for a year now, and I have been very happy using PlusNet as my ISP, so thank you to all the employees  for 
making possible that I can have a enjoyable time here.
What I like most about PlusNet, is that I can host my own web site, which comes in very handy.
The thing I like hate most, is that I live far from the exchange and my connection is rubbish:
Date                       Download Speed Upload Speed
Today 18:43 472 kbps (59kB/s) 278 kbps (34.8kB/s)
Today 15:05 472 kbps (59kB/s) 267 kbps (33.4kB/s)
Today 01:11 463 kbps (57.9kB/s) 267 kbps (33.4kB/s)
Yesterday 18:13 470 kbps (58.8kB/s) 261 kbps (32.6kB/s)
Tuesday 13:11 435 kbps (54.4kB/s) 373 kbps (46.6kB/s)
Monday 17:05 458 kbps (57.3kB/s) 319 kbps (39.9kB/s)

This has nothing to do with PlusNet I guess, but it is annoying.
Well that’s all for now, maybe if am here in a years time I will post another topic to let you know how things are going.
All the best PlusNet
Frangal
Ps. What is LLU trials?
100 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My Opinion

Welcome to the forums - we are normaly very friendly as long as you don't mind awful jokes in the Chat section  Grin
Ps. What is LLU trials?
There aren't any - perhaps you mixing up the fact that LLU via Tiscali is being discontinued.
Re your speeds - I appreciate you are a long way from the exchange but perhaps the experts here can improve things a bit.
Can you post your router stats - attenuation, speed, noise margin
Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

How do I find out about attenuation, speed, noise margin ?
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: My Opinion

Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

Thank you, is this what you meant?
Overview of Device Information


System Up Time 00:00:02:51
ADSL Speed (DS/US) 960/448 Kbps
LAN IP Address 192.168.1.1
Default Gateway 195.166.128.64
Primary DNS Server 212.159.6.10
Secondary DNS Server 212.159.6.9

Firmware Version 3.30r
Boot Loader Version 1.0.37-0.6.8
ADSL Driver Version A2pB021g.d19b
Wireless Driver Version 3.91.41.0 (Wireless is enabled)
Wireless BSSID 00:16:E3:4C:4C:0B
Ethernet MAC Address 00:16:E3:4C:4C:08





Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,773
Thanks: 1,151
Fixes: 63
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: My Opinion

Can you get a bit more information from your router to show something like the following (you might need to select "more details" or similar)?
Line Mode G.DMT       Line State Show Time
Latency Type Interleave Line Up Time 00:00:29:39
Line Coding Trellis On   Line Up Count 1

Statistics           Downstream Upstream
Line Rate           2144 Kbps  448 Kbps
Noise Margin        6.9 dB        9.0 dB
Line Attenuation   63.5 dB        31.5 dB
Output Power   17.2 dBm    12.6 dBm
David
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,781
Thanks: 862
Fixes: 55
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: My Opinion

A good start but we really need the Attenuation , SNR and possibly the error counts to try and assess whether your  speed could possibly be improved.
If you're not sure how to get the info then tell us what make/model the router is and we may be able to advise on how to get the information.
Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

Hi again!
Thank you all for taking so much interest, and trying to help me as much as you can regarding the speed I am getting at the moment.
My router is the one sent by Plusnet when I first register a: BT Voyager 2091
Broadband Line Status

Line Mode G.DMT Line State Show Time
Latency Type Interleave Line Up Time 00:01:06:09
Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 1

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 960 Kbps 448 Kbps
Noise Margin 9.8 dB 13.0 dB
Line Attenuation 63.0 dB 31.5 dB
Output Power 15.6 dBm 12.3 dBm
Internet Connection
PVC Name VPI/VCI Category Protocol NAT QoS WAN IP
Address Status/
Online Time
pppoa_0_38_1 0/38 UBR PPPoA
VC/MUX On On ****** Up
00:01:06:40

Traffic Statistics
Interface Tx packets/Errors Rx packets/Errors
Tx bytes/Drops Rx bytes/Drops
Ethernet 4/0 0/0
256/0 0/0
USB 0/0 0/0
0/0 0/0
Wireless 20361/1 16968/0
15214593/0 5326518/0
WAN 14860/0 18136/0
5453856/0 14610336/0
Thank you all once again!
Frangal

[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  IP address removed ]
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My Opinion

As a quick check can you advise what this says https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

Quote from: Oldjim
As a quick check can you advise what this says https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

Hi OldJim
this is what it says:
High-speed Broadband
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Estimated line speed:
Not recorded (service activated before we introduced estimates).
Current line speed: 500
The only problem OldJim, is that the 500 used to be 1000 a couple of month back, then went to 750, and now 500.
I must admit OldJim 0.5 Mbs it's quite rubbish, specialy when I am paying for 8Mbs, and lets not mention that I live
in a Cable (Fibre Optic) ready street. I decided to give my money to PlusNet, rather than that give it to Virgin, or it's
owner, who I cant look at even in a picture.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My Opinion

The first point is that your router seems to have had several  resynchs this evening.
Did you do this or has it just lost synch by itself
Can you try the router plugged into the test socket - the part behind the removable lower half of the master socket and report the Broadband Line Status (we don't need the remainder)
Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

I think my wife disconected the router sometime  this evening.
Regarding what you are telling me to do with the phone socket I wont dare doing it right now, cos' everyone is sleep
and I need to move furniture about, it's abit late for that, so maybe tomorrow I will try, but I have done it before when I
was with Sky and there was no problem with the socket. One thing is that I also have conected to the phone socket the
Sky box (well not to the socket, but the ADSL filter)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: My Opinion

Regarding the Sky box - when you test at the master socket we will get an indication if that could be a problem.
Depending on the results we may need to carry out some more tests
Galrey
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 30-04-2009

Re: My Opinion

I have done it. The router is conected to the test socket ....what next?
Thank you
scootie
Grafter
Posts: 4,799
Registered: 03-11-2007

Re: My Opinion

post the same set of stats as these why connected to test socket.
make sure its just your router plugged in with no phones or sky
Quote
Statistics   Downstream   Upstream  
   Line Rate   960 Kbps   448 Kbps  
   Noise Margin   9.8 dB   13.0 dB  
   Line Attenuation   63.0 dB   31.5 dB  
   Output Power   15.6 dBm   12.3 dBm