cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

FIXED
Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

I've been with plus net for a few months since swapping over from topcashback, the whole situation is already a mess as the cashback got declined but that's another situation. My Internet is painfully slow. I am suppose to be on 70mbs but I am only connecting at 10mbs. I've tried various remidies on the router and that hasn't helped. I only have one line into the house, I haven't had "quick" Internet since installing it. I've done a bt check and it says the line should be on 80mbs, I've tried everything on my end

33 REPLIES 33
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

@Jiggerjay Welcome to the forums. A little more information would be helpful, but:-

First thing to check: Is your phoneline clear? Dial 17070 (preferably from a corded phone), select option 2. Once your phone number is confirmed, there should be silence on the line except for the regular 'Quiet Line Test' message - any other noise, report a PHONE problem via: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/phone/

If the phone test passes, report a broadband problem via: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/broadband/

Let us know the result - if the tests come back as clear but you still have a problem, we need to investigate further.

We could do with a bit more information - especially the section which is cut off at the bottom of your second screen grab.

John
Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Hello John thanks for the advice, I don't have a phone at all! I haven't had one since I moved into the house seven years ago as we are all mobile here. 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

That is a bit of a problem - unless you move to Full Fibre (which appears to be available), a cheap corded handset is a very useful tool in these circumstances.

As a point of interest, do you have desktop/laptop - because of their screen size, mobiles are not a great help in trying to diagnose potential issues.

 

John
Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Hey John I'm on fibre, I think I posted on the wrong forum! Total newb here

 

Screenshot_20230205-112006.png

Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

And yes I have a laptop, I tried connecting via the ether net to the router and it was still 10mbs maximum 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

@Jiggerjay You are on Fibre To The Cabinet  FTTC (Not Full Fibre or FTTP) . However, your connection speed is horrendous - we need to try and determine why.

John
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Fix

@Jiggerjay wrote:

And yes I have a laptop, I tried connecting via the ether net to the router and it was still 10mbs maximum 


In that case, can you use the laptop to provide the following information, please:

For Community members to be able to help, information from these two sites, as screenshots, posted as pictures within the topic, not as attachments:-

BT Broadband(obscuring your phone number) and BTW Performance Tester - Over a wired (Ethernet) connection if at all possible, please report the 'ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTICS', and sight of the broadband connection status from your Hub (with the 'Username' obscured) would be a good starting point.

For the Hub One -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk

For the Hub Two -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Advanced Settings > Technical Log > Information

It may also be a good idea to report the results of a Quiet Line Test - dial 17070 option 2 from a (preferably corded) phone. After the confirmation of your phone number, there should be total silence apart from the regular 'Quiet Line Test' announcement. Any other noise - report a PHONE fault first.

If you are unsure about any of the above, please just ask - I am happy to help.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,066
Thanks: 5,720
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

be interesting to see the broadband stats from the router. Those sync speeds are VERY wrong!

The downstream 9.999Mb looks suspiciously like a 10Mb profile setting , although AFAIK there isnt a 10Mb downstream profile? and 10Mb is not the top of a banded profile , VERY ODD! but the upstream is also WAY below the estimates...

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Agreed, @MisterW , which is why I posted the request for the full details.😉

John
Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Hey John, I did the DSL test above (images in first post) just did the other test with my laptop collected to the router directly 

Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

I have the technical log from the router, shall I post here?

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

@Jiggerjay Fair enough,  but that original screenshot was missing important information, which is why I requested it from the laptop, along with further data. I am aware you can't, unfortunately, do the phone test.

John
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,282
Thanks: 5,573
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds


@Jiggerjay wrote:

I have the technical log from the router, shall I post here?


Yes, but obscure any personal information.

John
Jiggerjay
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-02-2023

Re: My Internet seems to only be connecting at 10mbs? Yet my line supports higher speeds

Attached, thanks for your speedy responses.