cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving the Router

myrddin55
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-04-2021

Moving the Router

I am moving my computer from the Front bedroom to the back bedroom which will become the study now that the kids have gone. The trouble is that the BT master socket is in the front bedroom and the router is plugged into it. Do I have to move the master socket (probably expensive) or is there a way of extending the connection/LAN to the back bedroom without loosing too much precious line speed/bandwidth?

Help appreciate

Many thanks

9 REPLIES 9
jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,664
Thanks: 5,257
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Moving the Router

@myrddin55 Welcome to the forums. Which Hub do you have, and what distance/walls is there between the rooms?

John
myrddin55
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-04-2021

Re: Moving the Router

Hi

From the master socket to the study is about 20m. The router is the new Hub 2

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,664
Thanks: 5,257
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Moving the Router

OK. Providing you have only brick walls between them, that should make no discernable difference to the performance.

John
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Moving the Router

@myrddin55 

PowerLine adapters may do the trick - I've no great experiance of them but it seems that they either work or don't. Something like the following

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01G5Q9E0O/?coliid=I3UKGLO4UQ5IKI&colid=YKLKLU2TV5Y4&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_li...

 

Note you can get versions that work as WiFi access points.

 

If you're happy running cable then a Cat5e Ethernet cable roung and then through the wall would also work.

 

Brian

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,664
Thanks: 5,257
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Moving the Router

@bmc At thaat distance I would have thought the extra expense wouldn't be needed?

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,402
Thanks: 1,056
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Moving the Router

@jab1 your assumption is the connection is wireless, where the OP mentions LAN

Dan.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,664
Thanks: 5,257
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Moving the Router

@Dan_the_Van Ooops - OK.

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,402
Thanks: 1,056
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Moving the Router

@myrddin55 

unless you have a need for a wired connection you could go wireless which would be the cheaper option, as @jab1 says you are well within range.

The only restriction would be the PC having free USB port.

HTH

 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,859
Thanks: 4,931
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Moving the Router


@bmc wrote:

@myrddin55 

PowerLine adapters may do the trick - I've no great experiance of them but it seems that they either work or don't. Something like the following

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01G5Q9E0O/?coliid=I3UKGLO4UQ5IKI&colid=YKLKLU2TV5Y4&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_li...


If you're going to go the Powerline route (I wouldn't personally recommend it) and are ever likely to consider an Internet service > 100mbps, then I would avoid the AV600 models here. They only have 10/100 ethernet ports so are physically incapable of pulling anything beyond ~100mbps through their interfaces.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵