cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish (NOW SOLVED)

robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish (NOW SOLVED)

EDIT: EVERYTHING SEEMS TO BE WORKING AS IT SHOULD DO, MY SPEEDS WENT FROM 2Mbps to 16Mbps after rebooting the router several times. Not sure what the issue was, but it was in all likelihood a remote issue rather than Plusnet's fault. Thank you for the advice.
I was getting 8MB/s download speed according to Speedtest with my Sky broadband, and 1080p videos on YouTube would stream seemlessly, with minimal waiting around for it to load and no skips or pauses in a video. This is just one example. Now my new Plusnet is struggling with everything, it can barely handle a video on YouTube at say 480p! This is rubbish. My download and upload speeds are a lot lower than I was getting with Sky Broadband, yet I went with Plusnet's equivalent package. What's the issue?
For the sake of the money I am saving compared to my Sky Broadband package it isn't worth it considering how bad this Plusnet is.
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  All caps in Title changed as per this Forum Rule ]
48 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: MOVED FROM SKY - NEW PLUSNET BROADBAND RECENTLY SETUP IS RUBBISH

you'll need to provide some more substantial information.
1) post your router connection stats.
2) Run the BTw Performance test http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ (ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test. post the results
3) Check your Current Line speed https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed (Login required) and post the results.
do these tests whilst connected via ethernet and NOT wifi.
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: MOVED FROM SKY - NEW PLUSNET BROADBAND RECENTLY SETUP IS RUBBISH

I am not as tech savvy as you might think, what do you mean by "post your connection stats"?
How on earth can I can connect via ethernet, literally impossible for me as the router is in the other room? This service is a joke
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

Is this it?
Uptime: 0 days, 2:38:09
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 18,906
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 13.08 / 83.83
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.3 / 23.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.8 / 6.1
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

that's part of your router stats, yes.
now we need the other 2 pieces of information that was asked for.
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

And how am I expected to this when the router is in the other room?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

Yes it is and the result is excellent and points to one of two problems
The current line speed here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed or the wireless reception
Can you advise the first and provide a BT speed test result using wireless http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

I can't copy and paste the info directly from the wireless test but it reads:
Download speed (Mbps): 2.10
Upload speed (Mbps): 0.70
Ping latency (ms): 46.13


You can see why this is disappointing for me - it was four times that with Sky
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

upload speed is about right
Can you provide the other piece of information we are requesting
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

Is this what you're looking for?
Phone exchange:
   W*********
Estimated line speed:
   14Mb (This may vary between 8Mb and 18.5Mb) - Checked on 2014-08-25 00:46:02
Current line speed:
   21 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

In which case it is almost certainly a wireless problem
Would it be correct to assume that you are using the Plusnet supplied router
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

Yes, the technicolour one. edit: I have never had a problem with the wifi card on my PC - it was working perfectly with my Sky Broadband
robert30
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

Can someone advise as this broadband is useless at the moment and I am reliant on it for work
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Moved from Sky - new Plusnet broadband recently setup is rubbish

This is probably the best place to start http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/wireless_broadband/wireless_signal.shtml
However for inSSIDer free version download from http://www.techspot.com/downloads/5936-inssider.html