cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move house - service overlap - best way forward

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Move house - service overlap - best way forward

Hello,

been a plusnet customer for many years - have moved house a couple of times in the past and it's been fine.

 

This time I can see being a bit more fraught - basically building a new house - which currently doesn't have any telecom service.

At some point, we'd obviously need to get a line put in. That would need to be paid for, validated and set up.

 

Some time later, we'd transfer our account over to new house around the time we expect to move in.

 

We have at least one referral discount which we'd like to keep, and emails that get directed, so don't want to lose existing account. What's the usual way forward in these circumstances?

12 REPLIES 12
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

@Kcal100 

Are you having a house built on your behalf or buying from a new build developer? If it's the former are you managing the build or having it done for you?

 

Either way the installation of the line should be serparate from taking a service. You would do a standard house move on an agreed date when the line would be activated.

 

A slight thorn might be if the build is in an Exchange area which is "Fibre Priority" - you might only be able to get an FTTP conenction. With PN that would mean losing your phone number but everything else would stay.

 

Brian

 

 

 

 

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

thanks for response, good to get a view.

Being built on our behalf (not a developer), trying not to manage the build ourselves though with a string input along the way.

 

My concern is that we need a line put in (I know, because the line was taken out last month, as it's a demolish and rebuild).

That in turn might put the install date back until PN and OR can sort out the install. That;'s my concern, in that we move in and there's still no telephone / broadband, and in addition the line install messes up the carefully crafted interior!

There is no fibre option - it passes our front door here, in same town, but not - as far as I know - the target property. That's still fed by a pole in a neighbour's garden.

 

We're not *that* bothered about keeping the number.

 

Thanks.

Callum

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

@Kcal100 

You can check the property (and your neighbours) here.

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

Use the address version, select the post code only and then the address from the drop down list. You're looking for WBC FTTP in the left hand column. The results will also tell you if it's a Fibre Priority Exchange.

 

Have a look round the OpenReach website for new builds to see what's involved in getting the line replaced. As it's pole fed, it might just simply be a case of having the new line installed and service (house move) activated on the same day.

 

As an aside are you putting internal Ethernet cables - far better than WiFi for heavy use if available. Leaves the Wii for general use.

 

Brian

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

thanks.

I see a figure for FTTP on Demand (330) but no WBC FTTP.

It's not a priority exchange (on outskirts of town).

I'll follow up with Openreach as they were very helpful in getting the line dismantled. I can at least set up ducting internally in advance.

 

I'm definitely planning some CAT cabling internally, to take the load for the heavy stuff as you say, and to get access to garage. I'll need to check there's enough space at the back of the router and satellites. Have a fair idea of what will go where in advance, so computer, and other kit can have their own CAT5 cables.

corringham
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,189
Thanks: 617
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

If you have control over the build, put BT approved ducting in from where you want it in the house to the edge of your property. There is a guide for developers on the BT (or maybe Openreach?) web site that gives the specifications and guidance.

Even if you end up using some altnet rather than an Openreach ISP they are likely to be happy to use your ducting.

With regard to e-mail - I wouldn't base your choice of ISP on that, as Plusnet's e-mail service is likely to go away in the future.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

@Kcal100 

Hopefully OpenReach will be able to confirm but if the previous line was connected via a pole it's likely your new one will be as well. As such you'll have a rough idea where the cable will be anchored to your house and where it'll be brought in. If OR FTTP ever comes to you it'll probably be via the pole to the same location.

 

Routers tend to have 3 or 4 ethernet ports. Had a quick look online and you can get 4 port wall sockets. However, another way would to run a cable to the cupboard under the stairs and install an Ethernet Switch (power required). That way you can have as many ethernet sockets around the house as you fancy (or you're prepared to run cable for).

 

If putting in wall sockets. did you know you can get right angled plugs to have the cable pointing downwards rather than out from the wall.

 

Brian

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,773
Thanks: 9,470
Fixes: 154
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

I suggest that your best approach here is to contact COTS / house moves and discuss it all with them.  Hopefully you have a target date for the completion / move - Plusnet can plan stuff up to 3 months in advance (and can reschedule if required).

It sounds as though you are effectively your own developer ... so try this angle - Registering your site | Openreach

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

thanks for respond e- not sure what you mean by COTS but assume some plusnet department.

 

No date - haven't even demolished existing house.

It's an existing site, so I don't think it falls within new developer definition.

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

Brian,

that's great - hadn't thought that far through but yes, I do already have a router distribution in exciting house as one CAT5 cable feeds the shed which in turn feeds multiple access points, backup locations, and ethernet cables. Will definitely repeat. Wall socket option would be great for study.

 

Yes, my intention - as here - is to have the line come in to a suitable point on exterior (avoiding trees and greenhouse) then duct it to the main computer room. And yes, I guess feed it out from there around the house as fit.

 

Good to know the access points can be down angled - I think I know what you mean now.

Kcal100
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-10-2022

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

thanks for response - BT duct would be ideal. That's my thinking.

 

email - I hear what you're saying, and keep reading "it's on its way out" but haven't seen that yet.

It just seems convenient to aim for same email as before until it's all upturned.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 22,773
Thanks: 9,470
Fixes: 154
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

Contact Customer Options Team (aka COTS)

COTs is the place to go to if you want to find out anything to do with your contract in respect of leaving, renewing or simply enquiring about early termination charges (ETCs). They have their own number and tend to answer quicker than the general customer service number.

Direct dial numbers

  • 0800 013 2632 or 0800 079 1133(from within the UK)
  • +44 330 123 9197 (from abroad)
  • Available...
    • 8am - 8pm Monday to Friday
    • 9am - 7pm Saturday
    • 9am - 6pm Sunday


 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,148
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 48
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Move house - service overlap - best way forward

@Kcal100 

The fibre cable would have to come into the property before if can ducted elsewhere in the house. You could consider the attic for the incoming cable with an external duct in place to bring it in. Then leave a draw rope in place to pull it though to your preferred location - then hope the installer on the day is happy with the setup.

 

Alternatively as the router is connected via ethernet cable the ONT could be placed on an internal wall with an ethernet wall socket nearby to run ethernet cable to your preferred location where the router and ethernet switch reside. Wall sockets throughout the house would give flexability.

 

This is a right angled (down) ethernet plug. There are many others on the market - just make sure you get solid copper ethernet cable rather than the cheaper stuff.

https://www.cabledepot.co.uk/straight-to-right-angle-ethernet-cable-0.5m-90-degree-down-p-3251.html

 

As your incoming cable would be attached to the wall no extenal BT ducting would be required.

 

Brian

 

Edit : Forgot it is FTTC and not pure fibre. Ducting still might work with a standard cable but I would suggest you try to speak to OR about what can and can't be done.