cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Hi
I'm trying to add the address of a local server to the dns server on the Technicolor TG582n so that when I type in www.exampledomainname.co.uk on my  browser at home it will resolved to my local server. The webserver is accessible from the outside using the  public ip address and serves up all of the expected media.
I've telnet'd into the router to see it there is any obvious command but haven't found anything.
Very grateful for any help - or even a link ... believe me, I've done lot's of searching so  far!
Cheers
17 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

one way would be to edit your hosts file
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

You mean the hosts file on the client machine? We have quite a few pc's and other devices knocking around. Much simpler to modify the dns server
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

... and to make one further comment, I must have used between 5 and 10 modems/routers over the last 20 years and they've all had this feature
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,974
Thanks: 1,003
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

This http://npr.me.uk/changedns.html should help you with the Telnet CLI commands to change DNS settings on the TG582n
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

telnet in
enter
menu
then navigate to
dns/server
then add the ip in there as a static ip
then exit the menu and enter
config saveall
to fix it over a reboot.
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Already been through that - it details how to modify the dns server list, not how to add to the resolver list of the router dns server
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

@Hairy - thanks, but doesn't this just add another dns server to the dns server list?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

no the server part of the menu will allow you to add entries. The link above my post is about changing the dns servers.
I don't have a TG router on line at the mo to give you the exact entries.
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

OK. I've just tried adding a host: dns server host add name=example.com addr=192.168.1.10
which gives:
Failed to add DNS host. [Name clash or invalid host name]
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

example.com is not a host name but a domain name.
You want to add a redirect to the server then you would need to add something else like a CNAME which I don't think dnsmasq does.
With the basic setup you can add host names but not redirects.
So you could give it a name and then just enter the name into the browser
dns server host add name=web addr=192.168.1.10
then enter web in the browser and it should find the server.
Or change the default domain to example.com and make www the .10 address.
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Well, I actually need the domain name - the webserver needs to receive the domain name as it serves more than one domain.
Looks like I'm going to have to set up my own dnsserver - never had to before. Tut tut Thompson, this is basic stuff.
Thanks for your input.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Quote from: buzzheavyyear
OK. I've just tried adding a host: dns server host add name=example.com addr=192.168.1.10

IIRC dns hosts does not accept top level names. eg com, net, uk etc.
example.lan should work if that satisfies your needs.
buzzheavyyear
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎31-10-2014

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Not really. If you have a small, internal business web server which resolves various urls (eg www.example.com, portal.example.com, mail.example.com), both employees and clients can quite happily connect externally, but employees cannot connect internally using plus.net's technicolor modem. Unless, of course, you set up an internal domain name server on another machine. As I originally stated, this is the first time I've ever come across an adsl modem which doesn't do this.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,974
Thanks: 1,003
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Modifiying router local dns for server on lan

Have you checked to see if 'natloopback' is enabled ? http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,110464.0.html/ That might help.