cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

See Wireshark trace attached, my laptop is the device at 192.168.0.13, the first few seconds of the trace show an ongoing Lync voice call.
According to http://community.plus.net/library/faults/using-wireshark-for-data-capture/
It looks like the voice data via Lync is classed as Silver. E.g. look at frame 4.
Have I read that correctly? Can we make it Titanium please?
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
38 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,649
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Can you raise a ticket and attach the wireshark capture to it? I'll pass it on to the right people from there.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

I cant attach pcap files to the ticket I raised ... how do I do that, it says there is an error with the file I want to attach. ticket number is 49284443
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,538
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 100
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

This is a known problem the solution for which I can't locate at the moment.
Zip the file or change the file extension to .zip and try that.
Edit: make sure this condition is met http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,94089.msg791322.html#msg791322
Yet more info http://community.plus.net/library/faults/using-wireshark-for-data-capture/

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

if you change the extension to pdf it apparently works
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

zipping the file did the trick, thanks.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Any update on this ticket https://portal.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=49284443 which includes the wireshark logs requested.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Please update the ticket on this subject @ https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=49284443 it has been open for a long time.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Hi there,
Sorry that's been so long. I've asked one of the guys who looks after that pool to go and have a look for you, there should be an update on there this afternoon.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Quote
Dear Mr XXXX,
We've reviewed the attached Wireshark capture files and unfortunately we've not been able to integrate this program into our traffic management platform. This is because there are neither any identifying features in the UDP data nor any regularly used ports.
I would advise that if possible you set your client or server to use a standard SIP/VOIP port or purchase the Pro add-on.
I understand that this is not a good outcome but unfortunately there is nothing further that we can do.
Kind regards,
ZZZZ

Ah, PN is not fit for purpose.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Nearly a year has passed now, this is not resolved.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Hi Godsell4,
We actually think we have some good news on this for you, but have held off on a reply until we have some details on when we intend to deploy this.
As of afternoon on Wednesday (24th), we have received notification from our suppliers that they have located a method to detect the Microsoft Lync traffic. I have authorised them to proceed to build the needed signature using this method within the hour of them sending us this information.
I do wholeheartedly agree this has taken far too long.
Microsoft Lync has been by far the most challenging one to detect. It uses a UDP stream of encrypted data and to anybody that didn't know you were using Lync, would look like a purely random byte stream.
Although far from the only causes, we have switched traffic management platforms in the middle of this and our suppliers have further complicated it by not responding, which has also impacted other work we are doing. It's by far the longest and most complex case we have had though (with exception of one other, but that is only as the customer that reported it is no longer with us to assist).
Once these updates are available, this will go through our change control process for deployment. I'll be providing you with a date directly when that is available, so you get a before and after feel for this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Thanks for the update to this and the open ticket today.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

Some better news.
We have deployed the changes to the traffic management platform this morning.
Per some of the details above, MS Lync is most certainly one of the more technically challenging ones we have dealt with. As a result, there is a level of expectation that it may not work, or rather may not work every time.
There is a high level of confidence that this will solve the majority of issues, certainly provided your network was is a similar setup to when the latest capture was done.
Can you try this for us and let us know the experience? On top of this, if there are any further issues, we will need some new captures and the instructions previously supplied will apply (if this is needed, we may need more than the traditional 2, though we will advise if the becomes a requirement).
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Microsoft Lync and Ellanoya

It looks like the changes just before Christmas, have done something, the packets for the call I just made were classed as 0x80. What class is 0x80, hopefully it is Titanium.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed