cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Max Premium

Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Max Premium

Recently when discussing my account with plusnet I was told there was no benefit to having max premium on my account as it was a legacy product and that as uploads are capped at 512K it was of no benefit over standard max adsl and got me thinking that sure enough I never seem to see an upload higher than 500-odd kbps and watching a speed test it seems to hit 509kbps and then bounces down and hits 509 again and bounces down again slightly.  Do you really lose 300kbps in overheads with the upload or is there an upload limit being applied?
47 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Max Premium

what are your router stats
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

Syncing at 8128/832,  but interleaving is applied with a level of 4 on the upload, but I had the same upload speeds whilst on fast path.
Here are the full stats
> adsl status
 --------------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A) -----------
  Running Mode            :    G.DMT       State                : SHOWTIME
  DS Actual Rate          :  8128000 bps   US Actual Rate       :   832000 bps
  DS Attainable Rate      :  9504000 bps   US Attainable Rate   :  1280000 bps
  DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :  Interleave
  DS Interleave Depth     :       64       US Interleave Depth  :        4
  NE Current Attenuation  :        7 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :       10  dB
  DS actual PSD           :    13. 9 dB    US actual PSD        :    12. 5   dB
  ADSL Firmware Version   : 232201_A
 -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
  Far Current Attenuation :        3 dB    Far SNR Margin       :       15  dB
  CO ITU Version[0]       : 00005453       CO ITU Version[1]    : 00005443
  DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < TI >
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Max Premium

On 888kbps I get speed tests around 720kbps
This needs a comment from staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

Thanks for your input Old Jim,  it helps knowing what upload speed others get.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Max Premium

I'm on Max Premium.


Stats:
Uptime: 1 day, 1:55:17
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 832 / 8,128
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 128.34 / 1.17
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.3 / 19.9
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.5 / 20.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.0 / 6.6
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 5 / -
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 6 / 5
HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 3
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

I have attached a screenshot of the BT performance test taken this afternoon
Download speedachieved during the test was - 5.53 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :8.13 Mbps(DOWN-STREAM), 0.83 Mbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 7.15 Mbps
Anyone from plusnet able to look and see if there is a limit being applied to the upstream?
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

Nothing?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Max Premium

What plusnet package are you on? I didn't spot any reference to upload speed limits in the legacy products archive.
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

I am on unlimited, but I was told the max premium was the legacy product.
It would be nice to know if I have been wasting money on the premium add on....
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,111
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Max Premium

So you've been told something a bit odd. I think the only thing "legacy" about max premium is that it's for the 20CN network. If your exchange doesn't have 21CN available, then you're unfortunately stuck on the "legacy" 20CN network. I have no idea where the 512k upload cap you were told about came from.
I assume you're on the newer unlimited and not the older (2009?) unlimited product.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Max Premium

The maximum upload sync on 20CN without Max Premium is 448kbps and the maximum actual throughput will be significantly less than that (around 390) so you are seeing some benefit from Max Premium.
What is your MTU set at on the router? Are you running the speed test wired or wireless?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

I think the MTU is 1442, here is what the Draytek 2710n reports
Quote
> wan mtu ?
Static IP/DHCP (Max MSS: 1500)
PPPoE(Max MSS: 1492)
PPTP/L2TP(Max MSS: 1460)
% wan ppp_mss <MSS size: 1000 ~ 1500>
% Now: 1442

All tests are performed wired.
I know that it is giving a slight improvement over the standard upload, but the customer options team told me there was no benefit in having it due to the uploads being capped and would be better off removing the product.
Community Veteran
Posts: 380
Thanks: 6
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Max Premium

I am beginning to wonder if there is exchange issues as my download seems to be maxing out at 1.97Mbps now
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Max Premium

There is no technical way that uploads can be capped to lower than the sync speed. You are sending the data and by the time Plusnet receive the data it's too late for them to do anything about it.
Could you post the results from a thinkbroadband speed test please - the graph may show something.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)