cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Massive packet loss

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Massive packet loss

Hi,

I'm new to PlusNet. Recently i got connected to PlusNet broadband to find out that line to my property was damaged.

Openreach engineers replace the conduit and line, but issue still exist.

I do play occasionally a Diablo 3, and very often I get high latency or what even worse got disconnected from the server mid rift.

I have run few tools to find out what is te cause of my issue. Please find attached logs from WinMTR. That specific IP is for a Blizzard Diablo 3 Europe servers, but I've also run for variety of IPs and it is exactly the same.

System PC wired connection, dynamic IP

Apparently you are the only one who could help. 

Kind Regards

24 REPLIES 24
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,762
Thanks: 1,433
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176  Those tool outputs show you have precisely zero packet loss, if you look the destination address all the packets sent have been received and vice versa. Some hops along the route do not respond so show packet loss but overall your connection is perfectly OK. Are you actually having problems with the connection?

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Re: Massive packet loss

For me "no response 100%" it's a big spike. Yes, constantly I get disconnected, few times within an hour of playing, various times of a day or night or having pings around 600 to 2000 ms. Also I'm not able to use WIFI calling as line is not capable of transfer, where i think even with 17Mb I should be able to.
There's another of Blizzard tools Looking-Glass, show precisely. I just did this test few minutes ago.

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Re: Massive packet loss

@RealAleMadrid  please check my previous reply and another log.
Even streamed video loading during watching.

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Re: Massive packet loss

@RealAleMadrid 

Also these looks good, yeah one is looking almost good.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 1,089
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176   if you won't take @RealAleMadrid   word, at least have the decency to do some research on the subject.

 

https://help.fasthosts.co.uk/app/answers/detail/a_id/1550/~/traceroute-explained 

 

Google, other search engines are available, have plenty of other examples.

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Re: Massive packet loss

@Mustrum  we called that selective reading, which means we read what we want.

Have you looked and Blizzard Looking Glass log ? Is that perfectly fine as well.

Start: Thu Sep 22 04:08:31 2022
HOST: ams1b-admin-looking-glass-back01 Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1.|-- Blizzard                                                  0.0% 10 1.0 81.3 0.7 805.5 254.4
2.|-- Huh                                                         100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
3.|-- 137.221.66.44                                         0.0% 10 0.6 66.9 0.4 659.8 208.3
4.|-- 137.221.78.                                             66 0.0% 10 6.9 81.9 6.7 594.5 183.8
5.|-- 137.221.65.76                                         70.0% 10 12629 12752 12629 12971 190.2
6.|-- 137.221.65.90                                         0.0% 10 6.8 134.9 6.6 451.3 152.9
7.|-- 137.221.79.32                                         0.0% 10 6.8 51.1 6.8 380.7 116.7
8.|-- linx1.ukcore.bt.net                                   0.0% 10 7.9 42.0 7.3 309.2 94.2
9.|-- core1-hu0-7-0-9.colindale.ukcore.bt.net 0.0% 10 7.6 30.6 7.5 237.5 72.7
10.|-- Huh                                                        100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

Next

Start: Sat Sep 17 23:19:38 2022
HOST: ams1b-admin-looking-glass-back01 Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1.|-- Blizzard                                                   70.0% 10 0.7 576.1 0.7 1364. 706.5
2.|-- Huh                                                          100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
3.|-- 137.221.66.44                                         60.0% 10 0.5 804.3 0.5 2073. 977.8
4.|-- 137.221.78.66                                         60.0% 10 25.8 738.1 6.7 1960. 928.5
5.|-- Huh                                                          100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
6.|-- 137.221.65.90                                         60.0% 10 67.8 593.7 7.2 1650. 761.8
7.|-- 137.221.79.32                                         60.0% 10 6.8 507.3 6.7 1508. 708.0
8.|-- linx1.ukcore.bt.net                                   0.0% 2 7.3 17.6 7.3 28.0 14.6
9.|-- core1-hu0-7-0-9.colindale.ukcore.bt.net 0.0% 2 7.7 7.6 7.6 7.7 0.0
10.|-- Huh                                                       100.0 2 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0

 

Also I repeat that question again. With 13 - 15 Mb speed should I be able to make Wi-Fi calling or standard resolution video from providers like Amazon, Netflix, should slow down and load during play. Is that also perfectly normal ?

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 1,089
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176  no idea what your Blizzard tables mean. Why not ask on a Blizzard forum.

 

Borrowing an example from elsewhere:

Have you just joined PN BB or were you already with PNBB? How long has this been happening?

What router do you have>

What does it say after you log into the router:

  • Go to the advanced section / Troubleshooting / Help Desk

Obscure your names & any digits in the BB Username but post the details. 


Is the phone line quiet? Does the landline phone work? Do you get a dial tone? Does it announce your correct no. when you dial 1470 17070?

 

What speeds does your line support? Post the results of the BTW DSL checker, hiding your phone number.

 https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,846
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176 

Are you ADSL or VDSL, what modem/router are you using.

What have to be aware of unless a device is enabled to respond to ICMP which by default a plusnet supplied Hub isn't then the ping/tracert will fail and give you 100% packet loss

My connection

TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 80.229.nnn.nn (80.229.nnn.nn), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 * * *
2 * * *
3 * * *
4 * * *
5 * * *
6 * ams1a-admin-looking-glass-back01 (37.244.16.56) 1002.628 ms !H 1002.602 ms !H


23/09/2022 11:28:10 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
Start: Fri Sep 23 11:28:10 2022
HOST: ams1a-admin-looking-glass-back01 Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1.|-- Blizzard 40.0% 10 313.4 519.9 271.2 1481. 477.2
2.|-- Huh 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
3.|-- 137.221.66.40 30.0% 10 0.6 457.9 0.3 2069. 812.3
4.|-- 137.221.78.54 30.0% 10 642.1 722.2 74.1 2130. 720.0
5.|-- Huh 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
6.|-- Huh 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
7.|-- 137.221.79.32 30.0% 10 7.2 296.9 7.0 1503. 562.4
8.|-- 195.66.227.42 0.0% 5 18.8 9.0 6.4 18.8 5.5
9.|-- core2-hu0-2-0-6.colindale.ukcore.bt.net 0.0% 5 7.7 7.7 7.4 7.9 0.0
10.|-- Huh 100.0 5 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
11.|-- 84.93.253.90 0.0% 5 9.7 9.2 7.7 12.6 2.0
12.|-- Huh 100.0 5 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0


23/09/2022 11:28:10 UTC
--------------------

Have you checked for bufferbloat? https://www.bufferbloat.net/projects/bloat/wiki/What_can_I_do_about_Bufferbloat/ 

 

seebee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 107
Thanks: 83
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176 to confirm what others are saying, your traceroutes look fine. For example "WinMTR Diablo3.txt" shows no packet loss at the destination, and an average round trip time of 20ms. Its a great connection. Don't be confused by 100% loss from any router on the way - its just one that's been set to never reply to these test packets. A routers job is to route packets THROUGH IT, and often not to reply to packets sent TO IT.

Imagine your packets are cars, and your journey is from Junction 10 to Junction 20. Your journey is fine. Traceroute is like telling the first car to come off at Junction 11 and drive back to tell you how long it took. Then telling the next car to come off at Junction 12 and come back. If junction 15 exit ramp is closed due to road works, junction 15 will show 100% loss - but it doesn't matter as in a normal journey you drive straight past junction 15. Similarly some routers only reply when they aren't busy doing the real work of routing - like someone digging up the exit ramp and only occasionally looking up and letting some cars through.

The looking glass is a traceroute the other way, to you from the server. You probably have 100% loss at your end because your router (or a nearby firewall) just never replies to the packets.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,846
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 86
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Massive packet loss

@lysy9176 

I have enabled icmp on my router, see attached results

Hope it helps explain what's being said.

Dan

lysy9176
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎20-09-2022

Re: Massive packet loss

@Dan_the_Van @seebee @Mustrum @RealAleMadrid 

Trace route, I got that. it's fine, good connection.
I briefly explain what happened recently.
I have moved to this property 3 months ago. I've ordered PlusNet broadband end of August to find out there is a loot of noise on the line.

Open reach came an had to replace all the line to my property, so I have new master socket, new conduit with line and new box in a pavement outside my house. I must inform that still I'm very far from a cabinet on a old copper wire. Thats why I'm on slow broadband as the line is not capable of anything else.

Now there's no any noise except those issues I've mentioned before, disconnecting from the server or high ping to Blizzard, not able to make Wifi calls, streamed video loading during play.

 

To answer all the @Mustrum  question.

1. End of August, line replaced 15th September

2.Plusnet Hub Two

3. No such menu, but that's the log.

Product code:Plusnet Hub Two
Serial number:+108417+2220000806
Firmware version:v0.06.00.12134-PN
Firmware updated:17-Aug-2022
Board version:R01
GUI version:1.6 19_10_2021
DSL uptime:3 Days 1 Hr 9 Mins
Data rate:1.589 Mbps / 17.459 Mbps
Maximum data rate:1.589 Mbps / 17.753 Mbps
Noise margin:6.2 / 3.4
Line attenuation:14.3 / 31.0
Signal attenuation:14.3 / 41.5
VLAN id:101
Upstream error control:Off
Downstream error control:Off
Data sent / received:1.8 GB Uploaded / 33.9 GB Downloaded
Broadband username:***************@plusdsl.net
2.4 GHz wireless network name:********
2.4 GHz wireless channel:Smart (Channel 6)
5 GHz wireless network name:*********
5 GHz wireless channel:Smart (Channel 36)
Wireless security:WPA2
Wireless mode:Mode 1
Firewall:On
MAC address:C8:99:B2:A0:55:60
Software variant:-
Boot loader:0.1.7-PN (Thu Nov 30 09:45:22 2017)
 
4. Yes, phone works fine and it's announce my number
 
Thanks
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 1,089
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Massive packet loss

unable to delete extra post

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 1,089
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Massive packet loss

Thanks @lysy9176   that helps.

Not sure what you mean by Wi-Fi calling - is that Messenger/Whats Aoo/Facetime or Wi-Fi call where the mobile signal is low and your phone uses your Wi-Fi to make/receive calls? The latter needs a compatible phone and mobile service. Not a PN sim, as it is not supported.

 

If no one else or other apps are using your connection, are you able to watch video's?

 

It would be quite easy to reach the bandwidth limits you have if you try and do more than one or two of those activity's.

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,719
Thanks: 5,758
Fixes: 265
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Massive packet loss

@Mustrum@lysy9176 et al  - sorry for jumping in, but that Help desk data raises a couple of questions. According to that, the DSL connection has only been up just over three days - which unless it has been intentionally restarted, oris literally a brand new connection, suggests a problem, and the D/S SNR is, IMO, too low for the reported attenuation.

Any thoughts?

John