Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost Internet connection this morning

jojopillo
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: Lost Internet connection this morning

Hi all,
A new service status has just been posted.
Jojo Smiley
zubel
Community Veteran

Quote from: andybird123
(although being an ex-network engineer I don't see why 10 seconds or 30 minutes would make a difference to most routers, they would either connect correctly, or there is a more serious problem)

Obviously not been an ex network engineer that has worked on either BT's ATM network or Colossus.
The reason for the 30-minute wait is to do with a connection made between the DSLAM / MSAN at the exchange and the BT / Plusnet RADIUS servers.  These pieces of equipment can persist a session for up to 30 minutes to the RADIUS server  (referred to as a 'stale session').  Any attempt to reconnect your PPP session during this 30 minute window will reset the timer on the session.
When you authenticate on DSL, you first contact the BT RADIUS servers.  These look at the realm that you have entered, and will refer yoru authentication request onto the relevant downstream RADIUS server (in this case Plusnet)
Examples of why this might cause a problem - if Plusnet temporarily take a RADIUS server out of commission, or it becomes unavailable due to a routing problem across BT's network, then these requests (for up to 30 minutes) can be directed to a black hole.  Every time you retry, it resets the timer, so you are not going to be able to connect until either the RADIUS server is restored, or the routing problem fixed.
This is only one example, but there are several other scenarios a to why a stale session can cause authentication problems - hence the suggestion to completely power off your equipment for 30 mins.
Anyway - that's by the by for this particular fault, by the sounds of it.
Cheers
B.
GordonWT

No connection here for last 2 hours Sad
Thank the god of broadband for iPad and mifi Wink 
dave