cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loss of DNS

Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 69
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Loss of DNS

Over the last couple of weeks I've had problems loading pages when browsing, one of the worst is this forum. I frequently get a timed out message or one that says No DNS.
Happened again just 5 minutes ago.  I'm on ptw-ag02. tho' the other day I was 07 [not sure of the full designation]. I was just about to go restart my pc when it came back.
Is this a PN problem or mine?
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,776
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 32
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Loss of DNS

Hi Mayfly,
The connection's been fairly stable from our point of view:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13716456354250.png"/>
Noticed a reduction in speeds?
Also just wondering if you normally connect via wireless and have done what you can to rule that out in case that's a potential cause.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 69
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: Loss of DNS

I do connect wireless because the master socket the router has to connect to is in the dining room the other side of the house. I have done a speed test connected and it make very little difference. [4.25Mb]
My speeds have dropped about 0 .7Mb I was getting 4.8 - 4.9Mb  now on a good day recently I get 4.3Mb slower some days.

Type Interleave Path
  Status SHOWTIME
  Downstream Upstream
  Data rate(Kbps) 6040 955
  Noise Margin 6 5
  Output power(dBm) 14 0
  Attenuation(dB) 49 27

Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 69
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: Loss of DNS

Fault raised, still have the lag loading pages and my last 3 speed tests have been between 2.9 - 1.04 Mb
Type Interleave Path
  Status SHOWTIME
  Downstream Upstream
  Data rate(Kbps) 5144 987
  Noise Margin 8 7
  Output power(dBm) 12 19
  Attenuation(dB) 49 27
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,776
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 32
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Loss of DNS

Hi there,
As the BT profile seems to have lifted over the weekend I can see we've increased our profile.
Keep an eye on things for now and let us know if you see any issues.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 69
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: Loss of DNS

Well my speed seems to settled over the last few days but I do have 2 more questions.
from the attached you can see the speed tests I was getting but getting pings of 50ms or more, is this acceptable?
Looking at my router stats I can see I was getting reports of ...
06/28/2013 08:34:07 ADSL Media Up !
06/28/2013 08:33:21 PPPoE stop
06/28/2013 08:33:21 PPPoE1 stop PPP
06/28/2013 08:33:21 ADSL Media Down !
Does this mean loss of connection and would they be recorded by PN?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,531
Thanks: 769
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Loss of DNS

Is that ping wired or wireless?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 69
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: Loss of DNS

It's wirless - it's impracticable for me to be wired because of where the master socket is. The ping has gone up from 28 - 30 on average recently to 50 - 58.
I am seriously considering paying £130 or so to get OR to move the master socket. When they installed the new socket he didn't tell me until he was leaving that I had to have my router plugged into it and not an extension.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,531
Thanks: 769
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Loss of DNS

Testing the ping wired to determine if it is down to the wireless or if it is a problem with the connection is needed to determine the next step.
If it is due to the wireless, homeplugs may be a cheaper solution.
If it's not the wireless, proof of that is needed before you can take the issue further with Plusnet.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)