cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Local Access Only - No Internet

TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

I have seen this sometimes with the older generation network cards and sometimes but not always
If IPv6 is disabled on the Vista laptop it does establish the IP address
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929852
Quote from: Lynnpin
One thing I forgot to mention was initially I was getting a message "press the configuration button on your access point" which I was clueless about but there was an option underneath  to enter the password manually which I did but still to no effect.  That seems to have disappeared now.

Could you try a soft boot of the router and try to get the same message back up, and if / when it does try pressing the WPS Button to see if it will connect that way

screenshot software
Lynnpin
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

I did try pressing the WPS button a couple of days ago but it had no effect.  I don't even know what it's for.  It stayed on a while but nothing changed and then eventually went off.  What actually is it for?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

It's a way of connecting to a wireless network without entering the password by triggering WPS on the router and the device connecting at the same time. If no connection is established it times out.
I'd stick to getting to work wired first.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

WPS is WiFi Protected Setup
Quote
Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS; originally Wi-Fi Simple Config) is a broken network security standard that attempts to allow users to easily secure a wireless home network
Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 340
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

If your are unable to pick up an IP Address using DHCP have you considered setting the laptop with a static IP Address?
This is for the wired connection.
Assuming the network address range is 192.168.1.0 make the laptop 192.168.1.10 Mask 255.255.255.0 and use 192.168.1.254 for DNS and Default Gateway.. The logic of using .10 is that this is below the DHCP IP Address pool of 192.168.1.64  to 192.168.1.253 and hopefully removes the chance of a duplicate IP Address.
Hope this helps.
Dan.
oliverb
Grafter
Posts: 606
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

It might be worth checking with the computer or network adapter manufacturer in case there are driver or firmware updates.
Normally in these cases I'd blame the router but a neighbour had a long saga of problems with a tablet PC not connecting, and I understand that it was fixed by software updates.
Lynnpin
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Quote from: TORPC
Could you try a soft boot of the router and try to get the same message back up, and if / when it does try pressing the WPS Button to see if it will connect that way

I tried this again but no luck.  See below:  
I've tried 6 times to send an attachment jpg to show you the result and each time I get "connection closed by remote server".  I'm losing the will to live now!
I've written this by hand as I can't get the image to upload:
Cannot communicate with Primary DNS Server (fe80:9e97:26ff:fe4f:9978%9).
Network diagnostics pinged the remote host but did not receive a response.
Windows found a problem that cannot be repaired automatically. 
Contact you Internet service provider or network administration for help or click here for information about things you can try to help resolve the problem.

Lynnpin
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Quote from: Matt
Ah. That is an IP that Windows assigns itself when there's some kind of networking error, so I'm afraid it's very much looking like a laptop issue. You might be able to resolve it from a command prompt, with some more use of the ipconfig command jelv mentions:
first, ipconfig /release
then, ipconfig /renew
That should renew the network configuration and makes the laptop request another IP from the router. If that doesn't work you'll need to check your network settings, but more on that tomorrow Smiley

I have tried releasing using the above and get the following message:
The requested operation requires elevation.
Everywhere I turn I hit a brick wall!
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Do not worry to much about sending a jpg as there are known issues with uploading them to the forum
For future reference
I use http://postimage.org small footprint program and have it auto generate the URL link  code to just copy + Paste into the forum to avoid such issues
the code looks like

screenshot software

However there other programs / websites that do the same
Ok back on track
Quote from: oliverb
It might be worth checking with the computer or network adapter manufacturer in case there are driver or firmware updates.

If you are not sure where to start  in looking for the card drivers
Check out
http://www.broadcom.com/support/ethernet_nic/determine_driver.php
&
http://www.broadcom.com/support/ethernet_nic/downloaddrivers.php
Quote from: Lynnpin
Quote from: Matt
Ah. That is an IP that Windows assigns itself when there's some kind of networking error, so I'm afraid it's very much looking like a laptop issue. You might be able to resolve it from a command prompt, with some more use of the ipconfig command jelv mentions:
first, ipconfig /release
then, ipconfig /renew
That should renew the network configuration and makes the laptop request another IP from the router. If that doesn't work you'll need to check your network settings, but more on that tomorrow Smiley

I have tried releasing using the above and get the following message:
The requested operation requires elevation.
Everywhere I turn I hit a brick wall!

To get the elavation and I am sure Matt inadvertantly forgot to mention or is used to XP, android, mac or a linux distro Roll eyes
Right click on the command prompt Icon and choose run as administrator
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Have you tried disabling IPv6 on the laptop as TORPC suggested?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Lynnpin
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Thanks for all your replies.  I've done nothing today except faff on with this and I'm still no further forward.
I haven't tried TORPC's suggestion of disabling IPv6.  It seemed a bit drastic for me but I'll keep it in reserve.
I got a Broadcom update yesterday but that was via Windows Update that hadn't been installed before.  I will check out the "determine Broadcom diver" link as when I was on their site they only seemed to have the most recent ones.
In the meantime I have managed to release and renew as suggested by Mat and this is what I got:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::243f:7f89:797b:9245%9
  Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.146.69
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d8cb:f7c0:99b:f74%8
  Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.15.116
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 23:

  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection : unable
to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

Any more clues please anybody?
Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 340
Thanks: 10
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Have you tried using a static IP address on the laptop as I suggested?
See this thread same sort of issue http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,122172.0.html see reply 9
I would also suggest turning off the wireless adapter and concentrate on wired.
Dan
davidg52
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Hi
Have a look at this web page and the other links contained within it to see if it helps.
http://helpdeskgeek.com/networking/release-and-renew-an-ip-address/
Regards
Dave
Lynnpin
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2012

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Quote from: davidg52
Have a look at this web page and the other links contained within it to see if it helps.
http://helpdeskgeek.com/networking/release-and-renew-an-ip-address/
Regards

Dan, I don't know how to use a static address but I did check out Dave's suggestion and found this page on that site.
http://helpdeskgeek.com/networking/how-to-fix-cannot-renew-ip-address-in-windows/
I changed the settings to the ones I have on my XP laptop that is connected and it connected via wireless straight away.  Now I just need to know if I've done something I shouldn't or if it's safe to leave the settings like this instead of on "obtain automatically"?
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Local Access Only - No Internet

Glad to see you have a connection
Now the next steps to help prevent this from happening again
see if it will continue to access the internet after a reboot, but do not forget the steps you took in copying the settings from your XP
Also check to see if it will connect via wired connectivity with the wireless switched off