cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line upgrade

Alan2010
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 01-12-2010

Line upgrade

Hi, I have recently signed up to the phone and broadband package with PN. I was just wondering will my current phone line be upgraded to an ADSL/broadband line or will you just continue to use the line currently in place?
Thanks.
6 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Line upgrade


Welcome to the Forum and PlusNet
I am on about a 40 year old wire and now synching at 16 M on a ADSL2 circuit, does that answer you?
Alan2010
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Line upgrade

Well without completely understanding the technical stuff in your post, I'm guessing the answer to my question is "NO"?    Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Line upgrade

The answer actually is that it should but sometimes it doesn't happen.
Once you are connected then a quick look at the router stats will tell you - if the upstream is 448kbps then you are on ADSL.
If you aren't a ticket requesting the change will be the easiest way and I believe that it only takes a few days to happen.
However given the present snow problem and B T's declaration of their equivalent of a "State of Emergency" it may take a little longer depending on where you live
Alan2010
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Line upgrade

Thank you both for you're replies. To change the subject slightly the master socket looks quite old (without a removable front plate for extensions), I know I'm not legally allowed to tamper with this but I remember a few years back in another property I was advised to remove the bell wire (socket 3 on the extension side) to help remove interference from the line and therefore improve the adsl speed, is this still correct or no longer necessary? 
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Line upgrade

100% correct, remove the Bell wire at both end, your main socket and the far end
Have a look here for the socket types, lots more info, some very technical  http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btsockets.htm
Alan2010
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Line upgrade

That's great, thanks for your help.