cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line status and profile

olisun
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 16-04-2013

Line status and profile

Hi,
I got connected yesterday and installation took a mere 10mins.
Unfortunately the engineer was not able to answer any of the questions and provide me details about my synch rate, profile etc.
How do I obtain that?
Regards,
Oli
9 REPLIES
clumsymacco1
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

Hi is your line LLU or "offnet" if it is a BT line then you can get your line rate or ip profile by running  a test here http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/, once th espeedtest has completed run the further diags otion. Be aware through your line will be in a 10 day training period so is likely to move around a bit until it gets it's optimal rate. The sync rate can be seen by signing into your router.
olisun
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 16-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

My line is a offnet (I was with Virgin before)
I tried running the speedtest and the diganostic but it didn't give me any results.
I am not using the Plusnet provided router but my own D-Link Router as I didn't want to change the setup..
Speedtests are returning constants speeds of
dick:quote
olisun
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 16-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

Just ran this through remote desktop connection to my PC.

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download Speed
73.65 Mbps

0 Mbps 77.44 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 73.65 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 16 Mbps-77.44 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 77.44 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
16.4 Mbps

0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 16.4Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.
It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.
If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.
clumsymacco1
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

Ah OK look slike your on a 80/20 FTTC product, then those speeds look fine, you will need to contact Plusnet and ask them to run a GEA test to get your actual sync rate, however at the speeds you have shown I wouldn't worry  Cheesy
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Line status and profile

Hi olisun,
Welcome to Plusnet and our community forums.
Your line looks spot on Smiley Your current sync rate is bang on 80Mb/s
Give us a nudge if you need anything.
olisun
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 16-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

I had to reboot my router today and first my download speeds dropped and I rebooted the modem to see if it cures that.
My download speed is back to normal but I have lost 5mb on my upload speed...  Cry
EDIT: Weird that it has gone up again...
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Line status and profile

Glad to see that's back to normal, if your speeds are fluctuating on wireless then I'd suggest changing your wireless channel to see if that helps.
olisun
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 16-04-2013

Re: Line status and profile

It was on a wired connection...  but it's back to normal now... infact it's slightly faster now..

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Line status and profile

Do not reboot the Modem as a matter of course. Fibre DLM can be quite aggressive and interpret this as a drop in connection.
Your Downstream sync speed on FTTC is the BT IP profile x1.033.
@clumsymacco1
You don't need to get Plusnet to run a test, see above.