cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line speed question

ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 27-08-2011

Line speed question

Hi all,
Just a quick question really, I've carried out a number of speedtest.net tests and my line currently is getting a ping of 22, download of 1.41Mbps and upload of 0.36Mbps;

Annoyingly I've not long moved from a very rural location to somewhere more built up (I'm now 1.49km from exchange according to samknows.com) and I'm actually getting slower speeds here than my old house! I just went to BT's site http://bit.ly/9IIyzE popped in my phone number and it's giving me estimated speeds between 3 and 8Mb. Would my speeds improve that much simply by moving to BT? It's using the exact same copper to get to my house isn't it? Do PlusNet not allow you to use the maximum speed your line can achieve?
Just for interest here are my router stats;
Uptime: 0 days, 0:24:17
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,128 / 11,808
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 11,800
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 5.54 / 35.42
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.5 / 33.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 27.0 / 6.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 65,536 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 86
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / NA
Can anyone see anything wrong with these stats or do they look normal?
Many thanks.
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,471
Thanks: 246
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Line speed question

Hi  ch5497,
As your new line has just been enabled its in a 10 day line training period, during which the best speed your line can achieve whilst remaining stable is calculated.
To cut a long story short your line speeds should improve over the next week or so, if they don't I'd urge you to let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 27-08-2011

Re: Line speed question

Ah, I see. Thanks for the speedy reply.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,471
Thanks: 246
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Line speed question

No problem at all.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 27-08-2011

Re: Line speed question

Hi,
It's now been over a week and I've just ran another line speed test with the following, almost exact same result;

Can I therefore take it that this is the actual speed I should expect from now on?
Regards,

- Craig.
ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 27-08-2011

Re: Line speed question

I've noticed my line is erroring quite a lot, is this normal?
Link Information

Uptime: 1 day, 18:37:09
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,120 / 11,708
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 443 / 11,032
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 39.30 / 616.46
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16.5 / 33.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.0 / 7.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 8 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 21,664 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 1,281 / 4,516
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 7 / 14,378
Regards,

- Craig.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Line speed question

Hi Craig,
I have raised your profile to 10200 to allow for your new BT IP profile. This should take effect shortly. Let me know how that goes.
Jojo Smiley