cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line speed problem - banding?

gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Line speed problem - banding?

device:lenovo laptop
os:win 7
plugged into test socket
problem: connection drops
  im getting fed up of contant connection drops i even changed my router in case that was the problem but even with the new thompson router from pn with the latest firmware upgrade i cant seem to stay connected for more than 2 days at a time most of the drop happen when im not online but these drops are having the effect of reducing my ip profile and being banded by pn so today i plugged into the test socket to see how long it stays on  im paying all this money for fast broadband and all im getting is 5500mb when before i was getting speeds of 17 and above i havnt changed any of the settings in the router so i know i havnt messed anything up its getting so frustrating because i know my speed should be alot higher my echanges is 21cn enabled and im on asdl2 do you think i need to raise a ticket or just wait and see if the connections stop dropping now im in test socket long enough to get my ip profile back up to normal and the pn banded lifted
23 REPLIES
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

these are my line stats while plugged into test socket
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 1:37:14
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 25,499 / 20,332
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 6,656
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 3.87 / 18.91
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 18.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 5.0 / 9.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 26.5 / 21.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 30,394 / 14
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 6,144 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 177 / 0
[Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) excessive spacing removed to make post easier to read.
jim:green split off and title changed as this isn't a wireless problem mod:end
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

Your line has almost certainly been banded.
Are you certain everything is filtered including a Sky Box
Unless the error figures are the wrong way round you have a line problem.
If you do the quiet line test - dial 17070 Option 2 - do you hear anything
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

done a quiet line test and its silent
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

yes all filters in place these are my latest stats
Uptime:0 days, 3:41:21
DSL Type:G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:25,499 / 20,300
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:448 / 6,656
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:6.70 / 30.10
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12.5 / 18.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:5.0 / 9.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:26.5 / 21.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down)30,394 / 1
CRC Errors (Up/Down):6,144 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down):177 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

If you compare the errors about 2 hours apart you will see that they haven't changed.
That would possibly indicate that something caused the earlier errors and then stopped.
Does your router log show disconnections over the last few days
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

Hi Gerry,
Are you in the test socket or an extension as your line's been dropping which has caused the banding to be placed.

Jojo Smiley
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

hi jojo im in the test socket and have been for a couple of hours in the hope that this will stop the connections from dropping i intend to leave it in the test socket if thats what it takes to cure the problem
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

Hi gerryhall,
It may have been caused by not being in the test socket. I'll see how stable it's been there tomorrow and take it from there.
Jojo Smiley
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

ok thanx jojo the longest i have been able to keep it without dropouts is about 2 days and of course every time im getting these dropouts its affecting my ip profile and has caused pn to band my line but fingers crossed now im in the test socket it will sort it out incidently the only other thing i have plugged in is my phone also in the test socket via the supplied pn filter
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

HI Gerry,
Your line has been solid since 12:08pm yesterday. I take it that's the time you plugged into the test socket?
Jojo Smiley
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

yes it is the time its been plugged into test socket and i intend to leave it there if thats what it takes to get my speed back here are my latest stats
Link Information
Uptime:1 day, 2:39:17
DSL Type:G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:25,499 / 20,356
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:448 / 6,656
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:458.31 / 267.86
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:12.5 / 18.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:5.0 / 9.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:26.5 / 21.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote):
TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote):0Error Seconds (Local/Remote):0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down):30,456 / 24                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          CRC Errors (Up/Down):6,144 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down):177 / 0
i dont know if it is possable to retrain my line to help getting the speed and ip profile back up to normal
thanx Gerry hall
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

Hi Gerry,
I will be able to do that but we need to see a period of stability before I can have it lifted again.
Jojo Smiley
gerryhall
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-12-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

ok thankx jojo fingers crossed it seems to have settled down now am looking fwd to being able to watch my i player in hd again without it freezing  Smiley
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Line speed problem - banding?

Hi Gerry,
It's been rock solid since Thursday now so I'll request the banding be removed today. I'll let you know once it's done.
Jojo Smiley