cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line reset please

scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Line reset please

Hi Guys/Girls
My line has been working like a dream until  last week when i saw openreach working on my box at the end of the street that day we had a few disconnection and since then i can't reconnect to my original speed the line seems to be capped:-
Basic Status
Device Information
Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.12 v0021.0 Build 150507 Rel.40130n
Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
System Up Time:1 day(s) 20:12:11
DSL
Line Status:Connected
DSL Modulation Type:ADSL_G.dmt
Annex Type:Annex A
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 896 4544
Max Rate (Kbps) 1016 4544
SNR Margin (dB) 7 8.2
Line Attenuation (dB) 29.5 49.4
Errors (Pkts) 0 0
I was getting a meg faster sync speed than this before this all happened and when your connection is as low as mine every little helps .
I've got the router set to connect to adsl1 because that always gave me the faster sync speed i can connect to adsl2 and adsl2 plus but the downstream is always 4544.
If you would be so kind as to reset my line or just remove the cap
thank you for any help
8 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Line reset please

Your line has been syncing around the same value for at least 2 weeks now, the attached file shows the reported sync rates.
There have also been a few disconnections recently. Your SNR target is 6db, so that seems like a good balance between stability and speed for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Re: Line reset please

Hi Chris
The sync speed your showing don't seem to match my router i normally sync @over 5000 at least thats what the router says ??
Can you tell me what I'm Synced at now and i can check to see if it the same ? thank you
scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Re: Line reset please

Basic Status
Device Information
Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.12 v0021.0 Build 150507 Rel.40130n
Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
System Up Time:2 day(s) 22:33:39
DSL
Line Status:Connected
DSL Modulation Type:ADSL_G.dmt
Annex Type:Annex A
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 928 4640
Max Rate (Kbps) 1048 4640
SNR Margin (dB) 7 6.1
Line Attenuation (dB) 29 49.3
Errors (Pkts) 0 0

And now
17:47
Device Information
Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.12 v0021.0 Build 150507 Rel.40130n
Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
System Up Time:2 day(s) 22:44:22
DSL
Line Status:Connected
DSL Modulation Type:ADSL_G.dmt
Annex Type:Annex A
Upstream Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 928 4608
Max Rate (Kbps) 1048 4608
SNR Margin (dB) 7 6.3
Line Attenuation (dB) 29.5 49.3
Errors (Pkts) 0 0

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Line reset please

If the 4544 speed was due to a banded profile, then that seems to have been removed. Also, perhaps interleaving has changed recently, which might result in a small increase or decrease in speed. If you used to have a 3 dB target SNR margin, losing that would also have lost some speed.
I would expect ADSL2 to be only slightly slower than ADSL1, but ADSL2 can be more stable, which would help to keep your speed in the long term.
scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Re: Line reset please

found some old router stats from a few months ago
 Link Information
Uptime:   1 day, 9:39:26
DSL Type:   ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   1,005 / 5,145
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]:   2.11 / 38.71
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:   12.8 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:   27.3 / 51.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:   6.2 / 6.1
and
 Link Information
Uptime:   0 days, 8:16:43
DSL Type:   ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:   1,076 / 5,483
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]:   450.75 / 5.60
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:   12.7 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:   27.2 / 51.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:   5.3 / 3.0

Admitted the last one has SNM set to 3
but the line did sync @ over 5meg and that is adsl2/plus
scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Re: Line reset please

ejs
Just saw your post interleaving has been off (better ping for the kids gaming)
So you think adsl2 would be better ?
ill try that if you think its more stable , why do you think the sync speed Chris has listed are lower than my routers stats
i admit the last 2/3 weeks the line has been slow but it did sync at over 5meg ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Line reset please

ADSL2 may not make much difference as interleaving is off, any increase in stability might only be a result of the speed being slightly lower.
I don't know about the apparent discrepancy between your ADSL stats and the DLM data, unless you were looking at the max rate by mistake. The TP-Link system logs record the time your ADSL goes down, but not the speeds it achieves on connecting. The DLM speeds from Chris often have dates and times a few hours after a drop on the visual radius, presumably that's related to when the data is processed further. If there were a lot of ADSL drops on the 9th, perhaps only the lowest speed ends up in the DLM data (which has 2 different speeds with close timestamps for the 9th). We don't see much data like those speeds from Chris posted to the forums very often, and on the occasion(s) that we have, it didn't easily match up with the stats from the end user.
scottymc
Grafter
Posts: 223
Thanks: 5
Registered: 04-02-2015

Re: Line reset please

All back to normal (ish)

Device Information

Firmware Version:0.6.0 1.12 v0021.0 Build 150507 Rel.40130n
Hardware Version:TD-W9980 v1 00000000
System Up Time:3 day(s) 22:13:29

DSL

Line Status:Connected
DSL Modulation Type:ADSL_G.dmt
Annex Type:Annex A


Upstream
Downstream

Current Rate (Kbps)
960 5184
Max Rate (Kbps)
1064 5184
SNR Margin (dB)
6 6.2
Line Attenuation (dB)
29 49.3
Errors (Pkts)
0 0